6800 GT will it run on my setup? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2005, 01:38 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

I think you'd be pretty right, and isnt that radeon like a pretty cheap card?
Personally i wouldnt buy an Ultra i think they are a bit much, why dont you just get a 6800GT?
__________________

__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 01:39 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

oh yeh, and if thats the card i think it is, the improvement will be massive, In both the 6800GT and ULTRA
__________________

__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 01:45 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 121
Default

I was gonna get the GTE version I think it is. And the Radeon I have isn't really cheap at all, it's considered a pretty decent card, I think last year it was considered one of ATI's top cards along with the 9800 XT at the time. I can play games full settings with some pretty nice framerate like halflife 2. Don't get me wrong I have limits like I can't run max Anti Aliasing like that or it'll kill my framerate, is the GT as good as the ultra? If it's quite a bit cheaper I'll consider it. I'm going to sleep though but feel free to respond.
PILMAN is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 01:47 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

6800GT's OC pretty easily to Ultra specs, mines running that right now with stock cooler, and it can save you some money.

Even the 6800Ultra will work in your setup though but you'll need to give it a dedicated line meaning don't have a cord that's powering your HD split off to then power that card or something like that.

BTW Yes you'll notice a HUGE increase in performance from the 9800
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 01:47 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

ultra=overclocked GT

all you gotta do is buy the 6800GT, let it burn in for a week, download coolbits 2, overclock it to ultra speeds, loops 3dmark05, and if it's stable, you've got yourself a 6800 ultra

there's no point in getting the ultra (and yes, it does require 2 molex connectors)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 02:06 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well an Ultra if properly cooled will technically hit higher OC's because:

1. It has a vcore of 1.4 opposed to 1.3 of a GT (maybe it's 1.5 instead of 1.4 lol can't remember off the top of my head, point is it's .1 higher) and that 2nd molex helps for stability because obviously it can rely on more juice.

Buuuuuuuuut if you're just looking to get Ultra speeds then the GT will save cash
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 02:04 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 121
Default

How much cash saving are we talking here?
PILMAN is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 04:41 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Check newegg but I believe more than $100. And like others have said, it is cake to OC the GT to ultra speeds. I run mine 24/7 at Ultra speeds and beyond screwing around with bench's.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 05:07 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

does your wife know you're screwing around with benches!?!
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 05:10 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

This ring don't mean a thing, biotch!!!!

~edit~if she reads this i'm toast lol
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.