6800 GT vs. 7800 GT - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2005, 12:26 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

If you have a VIVO x800 you can unlock the pipelines and flash it to an XT card easy as pie, otherwise you can try your luck at a bit of hard and soft modding and flashing.

No one can answer your video card dillema since we are dealing with a nonexistant card. I think most likely I'll end up with an x900 Pro VIVO in the next year or so and flash that baby to an XT PE.

As far as your overall system goes, you are fine for a good while. You are stuck on socket 754 so you might as well wait for socket M2/S1 and act from there.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 01:03 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
str8lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy
Default

Yeah I would definately wait for a bit, and see what ATi is going to do. 7800 is a pretty damn good card, and it will definately go down with some competition. Then you will just have to figure out which one you like the best.

Your system should go pretty good for a little while, but you might want to upgrade so you can get PCI-E and SLI. Your system should be pretty damn decent until the end of this year, because AMD just keeps pumping out chips.
__________________

str8lazy is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 02:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

ur crazy to buy a card now that would be stupid unless u buy the 7800gtx. U have a pretty good card but wait until u can afford a new mobo so u can get pci-e
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 03:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by timmer
ur crazy to buy a card now that would be stupid unless u buy the 7800gtx. U have a pretty good card but wait until u can afford a new mobo so u can get pci-e
Yeah, I might as well hold off and just build from scratch next year. That is what I was planning on doing anyways. I have recieved news that Quake 4 will be not be much more taxing on the graphics card than Doom 3, which is this is true it would be nice, because with the new Catalyst 5.6 drivers, Doom 3 actually plays nicely. But really, it all depends on how these Q4 2005 new releases play.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 03:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

Hmm i would still get a 6800GT.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 04:35 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
Quake 4 will be not be much more taxing on the graphics card than Doom 3
Don't know any technical details about Q4 so don't shoot me here, but from the screenies/footage I've seen, looks like higher res materials, higher poly count... hopefully improved physics & AI systems, along with the global self-shadowing bug that sadly affected Doom 3 fixed... less hardware taxing you say?

Anyway, and I'm only parroting what everyone else has said here, but if you want to get a card right now the 6800 GT is your best value for money I'd say, especially as it's no longer nVidia's flagship; unless you're insane like me, and want to spend your right eye on a 7800 GTX (mine's coming later this week ), you could pick up an (AGP) 6800 GT and run F.E.A.R and what have you at acceptable settings @ a decent framerate. Otherwise wait around until ATI's new puppy come's out, and go from there.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 06:14 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

As I've said especially since that card still has potential, flash it to an XT, you'll both increase the lifetime of the card, as well as the value of it, and you can easily survive at least until 2006 Q1.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 06:54 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

i asked him and he said his card dosent have VIVO gaara, so he cant do that.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 06:59 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

He should still be able to flash the bios to an XT and get the clock speeds on par, the only thing that'd be missing would be the extra pipes. That's too bad though, as I say though an x900 Pro VIVO card will save you a boatload of cash if you are considering a new card in the next quarter.

I am still a fan of the 6800GT though.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 10:25 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

to flash the non-vivo X800 pro, you need to do a hard-mod
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.