6800 to GT or Ultra - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2004, 12:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default 6800 to GT or Ultra

Well, I have had my system up and running for about three weeks now, and I love it. Now im am wanting to do the things I couldn't do when I first built it, do to lack of cash. So my question is, I have an eVGA 6800, that runs great, their isn't a game I can't play. But eVGA offers the Step-Up program, so I was wondering if it would be worth it to trade it up and pay the extra $130, for the GT or $230 for the Ultra?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 03:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 54
Default

hrmm im not sure .. all good cards. the one u have now is awsome aswell man (give it a bit of a overclock)

but i have been told form presvious posts the GT can be overclocked past the "ULTRA" so if u wont to spend some money i would get the "GT" and overclock it .. simple .

hope that helps
__________________

__________________
http://i.1asphost.com/Cur3/desa_Voxx013_sig.jpg
Asus A7N8X-X
Amd Athlon 2400+
GeXcube Radeon 9600 XT Xtreme (overclocked)
King Max 512 (3200)
Maxtor 80gig
Maxtor 20gig
SamSung 52x32x52 CD-RW
Thermaltake 480wtt
Coolmaster Jet7+
Voxx.013 is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 03:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 54
Default

OH

also, instead of buying a video card, myself personaly i would by another HDD . possibly same or smaller.

:P
__________________
http://i.1asphost.com/Cur3/desa_Voxx013_sig.jpg
Asus A7N8X-X
Amd Athlon 2400+
GeXcube Radeon 9600 XT Xtreme (overclocked)
King Max 512 (3200)
Maxtor 80gig
Maxtor 20gig
SamSung 52x32x52 CD-RW
Thermaltake 480wtt
Coolmaster Jet7+
Voxx.013 is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 03:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yeah I agree, if you're finding you are running out of space soon, you will want to get yourself another HDD

the 6800 GT can be softmodded to an ultra, then overclocked even further.
I don't think you can softmod your plain 6800 into a GT or ultra because of the memory type being different, the 128MB's are not GDDR3, but the 256MB's are.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 05:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I wonder how well the 6600's will be able to be overclocked. They will be using the DDR3 memory. But it'll only have 8 pipelines. Anyone got a link on what kind of softmodding you have to do to the 6800GT. I'm just curious to see what you have to do to get it past Ultra speeds. Don't you need to unlock 4 pipes on the GT to get the full 16 or was that just the X800 I'm thinkin of?
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 05:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you're thinking of the X800; the X800 Pro has 12 pipelines and the XT has 16
the 6800 GT and ultra have the same pipelines but the vanilla has less. softmodding the 6800 GT is easier than a vanilla 6800 or an X800 Pro because you don't have to unlock pipelines
I posted a thread before about softmodding a video card here
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 08:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

apokalipse, I just read your link on the other thread about flashing the video card. That was very interesting, but let me make sure I have this straight. The 6800 GT is actually an underclocked version of the 6800 Ultra, and the flashing really brings it up to perform exactly like a 6800 Ultra? And this isn't like overclocking right, it won't create extra heat or anything like that?
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 08:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

From what I understand, if you have a VIVO X800 Pro, you can softmod it to the 16-piped X800XT.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.