6600GT w/ AGP 4X - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2005, 09:32 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks! That finishes my inquiries. Do you have all those cards for testing? Or did you find benchmarks for comparable hardware to mine?
__________________

mjacobsca is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 09:40 PM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

No but a google search should pop up some, as well as browsing the futuremark results.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 11:00 AM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
Default

mjacobsca, i was in the exact same dilemma as u. 4x mobo which is about 2yrs old, with a vewry old video card that just wont cut it any more. I went back and forth wether to spend about $250 on the 6600gt in AGP or to upgrade to a PCI-e system. About a month later, i just put in the order yesterday, i went with an entire new system. The way i see it is like this. My cpu is old and would need to be replaced soon too. I have added more ram over the years, another hdd, but yet i still ag behind. If i were to upgrade piece by piece it would cost me a lot of cash, not worht it. Now i'll have 2 pc's, one which is topline AMD 64 system with the 6600GT and ready to go...hopefully by thurs.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ [939 Socket] W/ ASUS \"A8N-SLI Deluxe\" nForce4 SLI Chipset PCIe Motherboard
Kingston 1024 MB [512MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory
MSI Nvidia GeForce 6600GT 128MB DDR3 128-bit PCIe
Western Digital 160 GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA Hard Drive + WD 120GB 7200 RPM IDE HDD
LG Dual Format/Double Layer 16X DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW Drive
d_source is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 05:21 PM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Ok mr 6600 Ultura's

Rules state that you cannot flame another forum member, not local idiots ( i think )
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 05:41 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Ok mr 6600 Ultura's

Rules state that you cannot flame another forum member, not local idiots ( i think )
Thehehehehehehehehe
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 06:11 PM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

6600GT all the way. A friend of mine has the 9600XT 256mb, I have the FX 5700, another friend has the 9600XT 128mb and trust, me you don't want any of those.

The 6600GT will completely own them all and you just might as well get that and upgrade your board later
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 10:52 PM   #27 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Yadgadge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 83
Default

I'm curious as to where you are finding a 6600GT AGP version for $189.

Please do tell
__________________
In Your Face Space Coyote!

Soyo CK8 Dragon Plus
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
1GB PC3200 DDR
Thermaltake Polo 735 Heatsink
Leadtek WinFast 6600GT AGP
52x TDK CD-RW
16X Samsung DVD Burner 5X DL
30GB Western Digital 7200RPM HDD
250GB Maxtor Internal HDD
250GB Western Digital External HDD
Thermaltake Purepower 480W
Windows XP Home SP2
Antec ATX Case
Yadgadge is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 11:20 PM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Default

d_source, I don't want to upgrade my mobo because I have a 3.06 chip in it that I just got a little over a year ago. The chip is more than capable of holding it's own for a while, so I was hoping I could just upgrade the card now. Of course, by the time I want to upgrade the chip, I"ll get a PCI-Express board, and then I won't want my card anymore... grrr the dilemmas!

As far as the price, my local PC store at the Leadtek 6600GT AGP for $189. They are a boutique store, and never have any competitive prices for video cards. I was shocked when I saw it since the price is lower than the best internet special I've seen. I ran home to look at some reviews of the card, and of course when I went back the next day, their ONE card was gone. They can order me another one though.
mjacobsca is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 08:50 AM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
Default

^^^sorry, just giving u my dilemma and how i solved since we were in a similar boat. If i had that fast a cpu then i wouldnt have bought the new pc either. Mine was 1.5ghz and my ram 512mb is slow as c0ck too.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ [939 Socket] W/ ASUS \"A8N-SLI Deluxe\" nForce4 SLI Chipset PCIe Motherboard
Kingston 1024 MB [512MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory
MSI Nvidia GeForce 6600GT 128MB DDR3 128-bit PCIe
Western Digital 160 GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA Hard Drive + WD 120GB 7200 RPM IDE HDD
LG Dual Format/Double Layer 16X DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW Drive
d_source is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.