6600gt up to 6800? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2005, 02:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default 6600gt up to 6800?

ok what do you people think about the 6600gt and 6800 yes the 660 gt has higher clocks but the 6800 has 16 unlockable pipes and 22 gig bandwidth so what do you guys think i might get a 6800

burned-ati is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 02:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821

I'd go with a 6800 personally... wait, I already have a 6800 GT!

But setting all joking aside, the 6800 GT has 16 unlockable pipes (like you said before) and the 6600 has what... only 8? I'd choose to go with the 6800 if I were you.

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 03:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

The 6600gt is only a couple of frames/ps behind the vanilla (standard) 6800. The 6800gt is quite a bit better. They both can handel hl2 at high graphics, 1280 X 1024 resolution, 4x AA 8X AF.

Its comes down to money, if you have the money, than you won't be regret it. If you have enough for the 6600gt, it is well worth it.

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 03:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya

The 6800 has 12 pipes, and the success rate varies on unlocking the extra 4. If you unlock them and fail, or there is a damaged pipe, you have lost a card. Get the 6600 GT, or wait and get the 6800 GT. The regular 6800 isn't good price/performance value.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 04:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Cant you reinstall windows \ lock up the pipe again with rivatuner?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.