6600GT and PSU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2005, 10:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 53
Default 6600GT and PSU

Is the following PSU enough to run a 6600GT (all other PCi cards, and extras won't be hooked up to comp to eat up wattage)?

Model #: HP-D3057FER Rev: 02C
AC Input (47-63hz)
100-127V/8A
200-240V/4A

DC Output:
+5V/25 A +12V/19A
+3.3V/18A -12V/8A
+5VSB/2A

+5V and +3.3V SHALL NOT EXCEED 175W
+5V and +12V SHALL NOT EXCEED 268W
Max Output: 300W
__________________

VelvetyAmoeba is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 10:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

i really dont think it will i thinks its a litle to weak if you are going to have alot of stuff in your case.
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 11:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Depends on CPU and other drives and stuff.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 11:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

is the 6600gt AGP or pci-e

is that a HP psu? anything HP sucks ***, especially their PSU (wtf..they make PSU's???)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 11:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

post your specs... most likely not, you need at least 400 watts, these new vid cards need A LOT of juice
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 11:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 53
Default

3.0 Ghz P4 Prescott w/HT 1 MB L2 Cache
ASUS Goldfish2 w/915GV Chipset Socket T (LGA 775)
(2x512) Micron Tech PC3200 DDR SDRAM
250 GB Maxtor 7200 RPM Serial ATA Hard drive
1 USB 2.0 Printer
1 Modem Card (Will be removed when I get new MoBo)
1 USB Digi Camera (Rarely hooked up)
1 CD-Rom
1 DVD/CD -RW

It would most likely be the AGP variant. No, it's not a HP PSU. It's made by some company called Hipro.

I've read on the Dell forums that some guy got the 6600GT to run fine on a computer strained more-so than mine, and running a 250 watt PSU. Isn't it more an issue of amps on the +12v rail?
VelvetyAmoeba is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 12:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 53
Default

Here's the link to the thread w/the guy running a 6800 (OC'd too) on a 250 watt:

http://forums.us.dell.com/supportfor...cending&page=1

His specs:

Quote:
Dimension 8200
3.06Ghz P4 w/HT 533fsb
Dell 250W PSU
768mb pc800 rdram
P992 19" Flat Screen Monitor
128mb BFG GeForce 6800oc (16 pipes enabled)
Logitech 5300E 5.1 THX
56K PCI Data Fax Modem
80GB Ultra ATA HD
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz DSP sound card
40X CD-RW
Intel 10/100M PCI Network Card
USB Keyboard & Mouse
VelvetyAmoeba is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 12:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 53
Default

Sorry for the triple post, but I've been getting conflicting reports across different areas.

Many people tell me that as long as I have 19 amps on the 12v 'rail', I'll be in tip-top shape. Other people look at the 300 watt and say "No way."

Any clue?
VelvetyAmoeba is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 12:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

dude look i want a 6600gt too i have a 500wt and i know its good for me i have alot of fans and stuff. So if i was you i would get a 400wt or 500wt.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 10:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 53
Default

Not all of us can afford a 500 watt powersupply. I have limited money I can spend at the moment, especially w/ car insurance coming in August.

Now, if I could run a 6600GT on the 300 watt for a few months, I'd be satisfied. I should have enough money to blow on a new PSU by late August/October.
__________________

VelvetyAmoeba is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.