6600GT power requirements? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2005, 01:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default 6600GT power requirements?

Does the 6600 GT require an external power source? I've looked everywhere online and can't find it.
__________________

__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 01:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Some do some dont, its manufacturer specific. Leadtek does, eVga Doesnt. The ones that do require the small molex (the one for the floppy). Or come with some sort of proprietary dongle looking thing.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 01:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default

I've got one that does. It uses the same 5V connection that you use for disk drives and CD-ROMs. Mine came with a Y-adapter so that you don't use up any extra drive connectors. I think some of them use the save 5V connector that floppy drives do. It's smaller and that makes it easier to fit on the graphics board.

My video card recommends at least a 350W power supply. Mine's running on a (very good Enermax) 300W power supply with no problems (so far).
__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 03:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

The 6600GT requires a 4-pin connecter (1) which your PSU supplies my 6600GT came with a adapter which is just another connecter that a PSU has, the 4pin connecter is the ones which fit in to your HDD, CD-ROM Drives etc, my card recommends a 300/50Watt PSU.


Carpi: You edit all your posts to double-check and re-check for any spelling mistakes or grammer errors, or even if your information is wrong? Maybes? .
ApM is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 03:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

6600GT AGP Require a 4 pin model connector. This goes for ALL AGP 6600GT'S

6600GT PCI-E may or may not require a 4 pin molex

Power consumption for a 550 \ 1100 speed 6600GT is around 100 watts
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 03:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ApM Carpi: You edit all your posts to double-check and re-check for any spelling mistakes or grammer errors, or even if your information is wrong? Maybes? .
Who's "Carpi?" Or was that a spelling mistake?

Generally, I edit my posts to make them clearer or add a thought. Don't always succeed though. And to fix grammar and spelling. But correct them because they are wrong? Who, me? Blasphemy!
__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 05:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

Who's Carpi? You are, Carpicorn!, I was too lazy to write your full name out , Come on it was a good frist guess and basicly I got it right, I bet no-one elce has guessed pure genious like that now have they!
ApM is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 05:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Leadtek does, eVga Doesnt.
eVGA does require the extra molex power. Regular 4pin for AGP, their PCI-E however doesn't have on indeed.

Quote:
Who's Carpi? You are, Carpicorn!, I was too lazy to write your full name out
No he'd be capri not carpi, that is whe he was pointing out...so that's twice you've mispelled it
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 05:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

Yeah yeah
ApM is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 08:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by senseless
Some do some dont, its manufacturer specific. Leadtek does, eVga Doesnt. The ones that do require the small molex (the one for the floppy). Or come with some sort of proprietary dongle looking thing.
LEADTEK DOES??? oh crap...does it need a 6-pin molex connector for the pci-e version too (i can't find where to plug it!!! it came with my neopower480, but after searching for a place to connect it, i finally gave up and didn't connect it)
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.