6600GT or PNY 6800? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2004, 05:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ohGrFreak
if you do in fact get a 6800, i'll tell you how to unlock those extra piplines to the 16 that a GT has. PM if you are interested, it's free and works on my regular 6800 quite well.
You do realize that they're locked because they don't work properly, as in, if they worked perfectly, they would have sold the card as a 6800GT.
__________________

melanthius is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 06:34 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
You do realize that they're locked because they don't work properly, as in, if they worked perfectly, they would have sold the card as a 6800GT.
Yeah but it's kind of the same as the 9800pro or se? I think it is that can be softmodded into a 9800XT...it depends on the supply and demand ratio at the time. Because sometimes they just take the cards with the busted pipelines like is common, BUT if there is a high demand for the 6800's then they would simply disable the pipelines which means you could re-enable working pipelines.

Of course this is a gamble because it's about 50/50 chance that you either get busted pipelines or simply disabled ones.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 06:46 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Yeah but it's kind of the same as the 9800pro or se? I think it is that can be softmodded into a 9800XT...it depends on the supply and demand ratio at the time. Because sometimes they just take the cards with the busted pipelines like is common, BUT if there is a high demand for the 6800's then they would simply disable the pipelines which means you could re-enable working pipelines.

Of course this is a gamble because it's about 50/50 chance that you either get busted pipelines or simply disabled ones.
I couldn't agree more, and that is precisely why I would buy the 6600gt.
melanthius is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 06:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 383
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ohGrFreak
if you do in fact get a 6800, i'll tell you how to unlock those extra piplines to the 16 that a GT has. PM if you are interested, it's free and works on my regular 6800 quite well.
Yeah, but it only works on the EVGA special edition 256mb ggr3 regular 6800. not the real regular.
__________________
SNiPeRViRuS is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 07:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 29
Default

This is probably because eVGA is a very good company. Whereas, with PNY, there is about 0.0000001% chance that softmodding the 6800 to a 6800GT by unlocking the pipes would actually work.
melanthius is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 07:11 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Yeah but it's kind of the same as the 9800pro or se? I think it is that can be softmodded into a 9800XT...it depends on the supply and demand ratio at the time. Because sometimes they just take the cards with the busted pipelines like is common, BUT if there is a high demand for the 6800's then they would simply disable the pipelines which means you could re-enable working pipelines.

Of course this is a gamble because it's about 50/50 chance that you either get busted pipelines or simply disabled ones.
The Standard was an Ultra with one-less power connector. Because of this and stability issues resulting from low power input, core speed were reduced and pipelines were disabled and locked. Theoretically, if the Standard was given back it's extra power connector, it would be able to run with both the 16pipelines properly and the Ultra's Core speed, thus performing as good as an Ultra.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 07:15 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by melanthius
This is probably because eVGA is a very good company. Whereas, with PNY, there is about 0.0000001% chance that softmodding the 6800 to a 6800GT by unlocking the pipes would actually work.
I don't think you can softmod the Standard to a GT at all. When the standard was introduced, there were no GT. The GT was introduced as a card that can perform nearly as good as an Ultra with only one power connector requirement (from redesigning and add-ons came the powerful GT ).
__________________

WQ87 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.