6600gt need some help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2005, 12:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default 6600gt need some help

ok today im got money know to try and see about buying a 6600gt and stuff i would like to know what a good one and what infor do i need do i have to buy aftermarket cooling for this and what are the temps oh this baby.
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 12:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

wow, thats quite the mix of words, but out of that I can say eVGA is good, and you dont need aftermarket cooling, with a well vetilated case.
__________________

__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 12:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

get the eVGA 6600gt and you have to burn it in (put the gfx card at load, such as graphic stressing programs, 3dmark05 [especially nature], and play games on it before overclocking)

for aftermarket cooling, the zalman 700-cu seems good, i dunno about the nV silencer 6 though
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 01:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804
Default

The eVGA is good choice but i wouldnt aftermarket cool in unless u plan to OC it. Even then you may not need to.
__________________
Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 01:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 58
Default

If you want a breakdown of a bunch of the cards specs and reviews, Toms Hardware Page, www.tomshardware.com, just did a review of about 7 of the cards. Take a look I think they cover all the stuff you are looking for.
__________________
P4 3.2 GHz Althon 3200+
Asus Mobo Gigabyte Mobo
1 Gig Ram 1 Gig Ram
Ati 9800 Pro Gigabyte 6600GT
250 Gig Maxtor HD 160 Gig WD HD
upallnighter is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 01:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

www.tomshardware.com

btw, aftermarket cooling is worth the money imo
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 02:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

eVGA for step up program and all around good quality but the heatsink isn't that great.

leadtek for also good quality and better heatsink. Today some dude in xtremesystems was benching his at like 600/1300 or something like that so obviously for OC'ing those leadteks are a good buy. But if it wasn't for eVGA's step up I wouldn't have a 6800GT right now
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 02:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
eVGA for step up program and all around good quality but the heatsink isn't that great.

leadtek for also good quality and better heatsink. Today some dude in xtremesystems was benching his at like 600/1300 or something like that so obviously for OC'ing those leadteks are a good buy. But if it wasn't for eVGA's step up I wouldn't have a 6800GT right now
meh i'm too lazy to go over to XS right now

was that on air

maybe i should start experimenting

eh but i get lock-ups at 550/1100

F**K!!!!!!!!!
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 03:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah they used a stock heatsink to get that on the leadtek....I think he boosted the voltage just a tad though for more stability, like a .025 increase I believe.

EDIT: it was .25, here's a link to the guys thread

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=59030

.25 is a pretty big increase
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 03:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

nubius do you think my lock-ups are due to not enough burn in time (i barely have any) or maybe a sudden increase in speed? (i increased from 500/1000 to 550/1100 without anything in between)
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.