6600GT Buzzing Noise When Playing BF2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2005, 10:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default 6600GT Buzzing Noise When Playing BF2

It only started doing it today and ive been playing it for weeks with no problems. Im pretty sure its my graphics card that is making the noise because BF2 quit to desktop on me earlier while making th noise and its never done that before. Also, when browsing the internet it doesnt make the noise.

Any ideas whats up? Its a BFG 6600GT.

Thanks in advance
__________________

chrisgill369 is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 11:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default

Anyone?
__________________

chrisgill369 is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 11:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

probly your fan make sure your card is securly fastened. the game is pretty demanding it might be reaching a certain temp and have to shut down the game after the fan is runing at crazy rpms, but i could be wrong. im pretty dumb hopfully someone else will reply with a better answer than me
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 11:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Sounds right to me. Card is overheating most likely, and how much RAM do you have?
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 11:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to homerj14
Default

well man i got the same problem with 6800 gt Brand new card my comp runs at 80 Farenhieght so i dont think its the heat
__________________
My BF2 account Homerj14
Support our troops...
AIM-House300zx
homerj14 is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 11:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

u sure its the card then?
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 11:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Sounds like its the fan, my eVGA makes a strange noise after an hour of halo at max settings on one screen and the net on another one and i traced it to the fan going way to fast......
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 11:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

its the computer inside make sure you have adquete airflow to keep the whole inside of the computer cooler, right now the whole inside is probly hot and cant keep the card cool then. so your card is getting too hot. i suggest getting really mad and throwing your computer out of the car windows driving 70mph and seeing how fast your computer cools off then
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 03:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

when I play BF2, its my cpu fan that goes berzerk from heat, i would put money on that being your problem.....the best thing to do is check your gpu/cpu temps and fan speeds using rivatuner or pcwizard....please let us know what you conclude the problem to be...

What are your system specs? Do you have a Prescott core Pentium??
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 03:51 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default

Sorry, didnt use the comp last night ...

Specs
AMD64 3000+
BFG 6600GT
Corsair 512mb
SB 120GB Sata

Which of those programs will work for determining the temp on a 6600GT? I was under the impression you couldnt find the temp of the card :/

Using Asus Probe, my current temps of m/b and cpu are 29 and 33 respectively. CPU fan is spinning at 3214 rpm. Thats all it tells me, i will play BF2 and see what info i get then.

EDIT: Just download riva tuner but cant find the card temp with it.
__________________

chrisgill369 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.