6600gt broke off capacitor! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2005, 02:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Red face 6600gt broke off capacitor!

i broke a capacitor off my brand new evga 6600gt and i pushed it back on how it was and it works fine. just it keeps warning me about how its not getting enough power because i only got a 300 wat psu but. wouldnt it not work it all if it wasnt right. i can get a exchange from newegg and wait weeks but is it worth it because it seems ok.
__________________

burned-ati is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 02:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Who makes that PSU?

How did you put the capacitor back on?

The capacitor stores electricity, so it may affect it. It may be worth RMAing it.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 02:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

well i turned the capacitor around, because i thought it wasnt working seein is it was saying it was needing power so often and it stopped saying it needed power to the video card so im guessing its working good now, my psu is made by codegen im not really sure if its generic or not, but the capacitor broke off when i was unhooking my hd my hand flung off while un pluging the power connector to it and it smashed in the the vga and broke off the capacitor. but it looks good and i belive it is working properly i get no artifacts umm, no errors hasnt said anything about low power yet, so i guess its good but please respond thanks
burned-ati is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 02:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Lol, get a soldering iron and make sure its in for good

And get a new PSU btw too
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 02:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Well that may be an idea, but I like the idea that if it works, don't touch it, you may end up breaking it. Also if you do need to RMA it and they find solder all over it then they're gonna realise what happened.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 04:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Def RMA it. Say that you got it damaged. If you got it off of newegg, they'll probably beleive you.
__________________

__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.