6600gt & BF2 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2005, 09:57 AM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

no gara ur wrong this 6800 is 256 bit and 6600gt is onlt 128 bit but the 6600gt has high mem clocks and core clocks to make up for that lack of 256 bit, and the 6800 has lower clocks but is 256 bit. but the 6800 does not double the 6600gt.
__________________

burned-ati is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 09:58 AM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

but it is a small bit better
__________________

burned-ati is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 10:07 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

256 bit > 128 bit
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 10:52 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dhw200
that is such BS. People are running it fine on their 6600 GTs. I run it on my X850 XT, and i dont see that on the list either.
Thats good because i intend to get it at the end of the week. Gotta wait for my DVD drive to arrive first.
chrisgill369 is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 12:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
no gara ur wrong this 6800 is 256 bit and 6600gt is onlt 128 bit but the 6600gt has high mem clocks and core clocks to make up for that lack of 256 bit, and the 6800 has lower clocks but is 256 bit. but the 6800 does not double the 6600gt.
The 6800 is still the better card and a steal for it's recent price drop right now, especially if you are able to softmod it to a GT.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 02:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496
Default

Heyyo,

Yeah, the pipelines and the bitrate impact preformance more than how fast the clock cycle is. I mean, on me old 3dfx, an increase in 60MHz only gave me like, 3F/S extra at the most... needless to say I tried higher (hey, I was a comp n00b and I thought I was "uber 1337 d00dz") and that card diddn't last much longer.. lol.

I dunno if the core of the 6600gt and the 6800 are different, but I bet they would be. An in the end, for vidcards? the better the core? the more likely it'll take onna vidcard with a weaker core.

I'm sure the 6600gt would run great on BF2 since it is nvidia-optimized. If it game off low framerates I'd be shocked. Remember to upgrade your nvidia drivers to the latest ones to get you as close as possible to 100% compatibility.
__________________
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 03:24 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

i just bought a 6600gt evga from newegg guys!! cant wait to get it lol i spent 162.00$ total with shipping for a retail version
burned-ati is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 09:45 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo
Default

also that list is crap there are many cards not on the list that play the game just fine.
__________________
Charbo is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 10:31 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

My XFX 6600gt runs BF2 with no problems at all at high settings.........i could swear the 6600gt was on that list???????
__________________

__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.