6600gt or 6800 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2005, 04:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default 6600gt or 6800

I was looking through newegg and found this Evga 6800 video card. Its not very expensive compared to 6800gt's. I was considering this MSI 6600gt. Which one would be the better card to get in this situation. Is the 6800 better than the 6600gt? Or suggest a different card to get.


Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 04:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031

The main difference between those 2 are that the 6800 has 12 pipelines, and 6600GT has only 8. The 6800 is better, but only by a little. If you want to spend the extra $50 for a little imporvment, go for it, but the 6600GT probably has a bette priceerformance ratio. If you have the money, the 6800GT is well worth it.

Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 04:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261

I'd probly get the 6800 as it is EVGA and those are generally pretty good.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 04:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

I was getting some info on my 6800GT as far as flashing it with different BIOS's is concerned, and theres on guy in there who said he flashed his leadtek A400LE (6800LE 128mb) with a 6800Ultra BIOS which means the same core and memory of 425/1100 and using 1.4v........soooo if you get a good manufacturer like eVGA or leadtek you should be able to flash using an Ultra BIOS, and get quite a good performance boost. It won't have 16 pipelines or GDDR3 memory but it'll still be quite a performer compared to leaving it stock

EDIT: Of course you could simply get the 6800 now then step up to the 6800GT later like I did
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 04:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433

i would get the 6800 and do what nubius did, pay the difference for the 6800 gt in a while.

-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 04:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Well you can unlock the pipes nubius, everyone over at newegg.com did it.

However, it's stock 3dmark cant beat my 6600GT OC'ed
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 05:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
aj2003's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094

the 6600GT is better rice/performance IMHO, i think the standard 6800 only uses DDR whereas the 6600GT uses GDDR3. now i know this doesnt mean the 6600gt is better, but if ur not willing to flash the bios or overclock the 6600gt would be a better buy.
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 05:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

Well you can unlock the pipes nubius, everyone over at newegg.com did it.

However, it's stock 3dmark cant beat my 6600GT OC'ed
That's assuming though that they locked the pipes of a perfectly good GPU, which isn't always the case like the 9800pros I think it was.....it could be defective pipes that are locked so unlocking them would be pointless, but yes.......I have seen a guide before to turn a 6800 into GT, and then turn that GT into Ultra, it's a very long process involving software mods and hardware mods meaning soldering and whatnot, but it can be done

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.