6600 vs 6800 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2005, 09:58 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kadahaf
6800 > 6600 gt
What a simple statement, attempting to answer something he explicitly said he already knew about. Too bad that it's wrong.

6600 GT > 6800 is a bit more accurate. If you don't believe me, check out the benchs at toms. http://graphics.tomshardware.com/gra...charts-05.html
__________________

__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 10:49 AM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

The same place also shows that the 6800 is better in this bench test.

http://www20.graphics.tomshardware.c...gt-agp-09.html


But for the Price:Performance ratio 6600gt is better. When I brought my pc the 6600gt's were only just showing their faces, and I idn't have enough for the 6800gt, and wanted a high end card so I had to get the 6800.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 02:47 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

The benchmark you cite is Doom 3 with a 6600GT using an HSI bridge chip to work on the AGP interface. Therefore, I doubt the user is recieving the cards full potential. The ones I cited were PCI-E, and much more current. The difference that drivers make over time cannot be overlooked.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 11:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

I guess it depends on what benchmarks are used. They are pretty close.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 11:22 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

AGP and PCI-E are same peformance.

The second article is probolly using reference 6600's instead of 500 \ 1000 cards
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.