6600 GT vs 9800 Pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2005, 06:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 112
Default 6600 GT vs 9800 Pro

The title says it all. Which would be better for gaming in your opinions (or fact!)
__________________

pctech86 is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 07:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 163
Send a message via Yahoo to xenosoul
Default

I've owned both of these cards and I would say the 6600 GT is better IMO.
__________________

xenosoul is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 07:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 112
Default

of course driver updates and the difficulty of doing them doint matter to me it's the amount of raw power for the best price that i'm lookin for. Thanks man. Anybody else got some opinions?
__________________
A+, Net+, Toshiba Copier Tech L1
Working on MCP
pctech86 is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 07:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

9800p is old crap

6600gt is much better
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 07:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

6600GT newer technology, both goo cards, 9800pro isnt crap.. lol i run server with a 9700 pro, and i run doom3 on high settings with 2400+ 512 ram.

But 6600GT is better tho. Plus u can OC it a bit.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 08:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

6600 GT is not only faster, but it has Pixel Shader 3 which is the technology being used to develop future games. No ATI has it at this moment, so basically all ATIs are oudated pieces of crap.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 09:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

^^^
I am with stupid
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 09:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

^word
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.