6600 and 6800GT - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2004, 01:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 416
Send a message via AIM to chog
Default 6600 and 6800GT

Why is the clock speed on the 6600 500mhz and on the 6800GT it is only 350mhz?

Wouldnt the higher clock speed make it perform better, or does the chipset make that much of a difference.
__________________

chog is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 01:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

its 300/550 opposed to 350/1000
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 01:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 416
Send a message via AIM to chog
Default

Im sorry, I meant the 6600GT
chog is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 01:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

6600gt is 128 mb ram...
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 01:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 416
Send a message via AIM to chog
Default

And that affects the core speed?
chog is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 05:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

the 6600 has 8 pixel pipelines the 6800 has 12, the 6800gt has 16.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 08:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Faster clock speed doesn't nessisarly mean better performance. Why is an Athlon 64 FX55 slower than a P4 3.6 in clock speed, yet it manages to beat it in every benchmark? For the gpu, there are many, many reasons ranging from the pipelines it have, to the way it utilizes the graphics driver.

BTW:
6600GT = 500/500, 8 pipelines
6800GT = 350/1000, 16 pipelines
WQ87 is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 12:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

6600GT is 500/1000 with 8 pipelines right?
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 01:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

i believe its 500/1000 and 8 pipelines also lazerman... and also the 6600GT is 128 bit and the 6800gt is 256bit...
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 02:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 515
Send a message via AIM to Nvidia fan boy
Default

just cause its faster dosent neccesarily mean its better.
__________________

Nvidia fan boy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.