65nm...HTT 3.0...DDR3 and more - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2005, 05:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default 65nm...HTT 3.0...DDR3 and more

http://www.extremetech.com/article2/...1826595,00.asp

Very interesting article in reference to where AMD is headed in the next few years. I like how DDR2 is sticking around for a year and then DDR3 is shoving it out of the way, my Athlon 64 should last me until then and I won't have to deal with DDR2. I still wanna see XDR put on the roadmap though, it's the best of any of the future memory modules as far as I can tell.

I also love the Hypertransport 3.0 with its supposed three times the throughput. Throw in faster RAM modules, a bit of overclocking, and we're looking at 20GB/s+ memory bandwidth. Before long memory will keep on par with cache.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-12-2005, 05:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Mmmmmm, about 2 years time, it will be cheap, and I can stick it in my new PC (about the time I will be building my next.)


Hopefully, it will remain nice and cool, for nice big overclocks, (even with the 4 cores) without phase change.


Nice find.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-12-2005, 05:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

with 65nm architecture I don't see why it wouldn't run cool......but yeah, 20gb/sec memory bandwidth is just absurb to think about lol........it's pretty amazing at how well the jump from Socket A to AMD64 platforms simply made in terms of bandwidth
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-12-2005, 05:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

When the archetecture gets smaller, the current can leek more, making heat, just like intel's do on the precott cores. Plus having the 4 cores, thats got to make it hotter.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.