64 bit applications - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2003, 06:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 207
Default

is the win xp 64 that you are talking about only for the intel Itanium chips or does it work with amd chips as well or Are you talking about the one that was in pc world or just the regular business 64 bit windows that companies use instead of consumers.
__________________

amd643200+ is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 06:11 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

According to the Microsoft site (this is from this page):

Quote:
Windows XP 64-Bit Edition Version 2003 is available from computer manufacturers with the purchase of a new Intel Itanium Processor Family workstation. It is also available to Microsoft Developer Network (MSDN) Universal, Enterprise, Professional, and Operating Systems subscribers via MSDN Subscriber Downloads. Windows XP 64-Bit Edition Version 2003 is only available in an English language version.
So you can not just buy it off of the shelf. You have to be subscribed to MSDN or buy it OEM on a machine.
__________________

__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 07:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

WinXP 64 bit will run on any CPU fast enough but you need a 64 bit processor to use the 64 bit capability
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-30-2003, 11:44 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247
Default

no, WINXP 64 bit will only run on a 64 bit cpu. but can run 32bit programs.
__________________
Tech4hire

i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 12-30-2003, 11:02 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

dethangle, hey where on that site is the Win XP 64bit priced? A free copy, now that would be good for those that have splurged for the 64 bit processor. Looks to me like you have to buy a new Family Workstation to get it. I don't think that is what AMD 643200+ is looking for.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 12-30-2003, 11:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 207
Default

no thats not what I was looking for I allready have my amd 64 chip and pc I was looking for apps for it but I supose I will ahve to wait till march or april for the xp 64 designed for my chip and wait for the apps to follow which is fine for me
amd643200+ is offline  
Old 12-31-2003, 01:34 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

it was on the MS site (it might be only for peeps with MS logins, as, like i said, i work for an MS company and the link was sent to me by a co-worker) neways, i think it will work on the athlon 64 (i couldnt see why not, the 32-bit edition works on the 32-bit version of XP) or the itanium, (soon to be the P5 IMO)
__________________

dethangel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.