64-bit amd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2004, 10:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to Dunadan1821 Send a message via Yahoo to Dunadan1821
Default 64-bit amd

So on the near horizon we have 64-bit processors. My question to you all is exactly how you guys think it will effect us. Is it backwards compatible with 32-bit apps and os'? I would like to build a computer to run some fedora but am not sure if it will even work. Any thoughts on my system as well as 64-bit cpus would be welcome! Thanks in advance, Duna
__________________

Dunadan1821 is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 10:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Yes, it works on all 32-Bit and 64-Bit apps, and OS's. I have it and everything is fine, when 64-Bit is able to be used, they will jump so much in the performance. I have SuSE 9.1 which supports 64-Bit CPU's
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 10:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to Dunadan1821 Send a message via Yahoo to Dunadan1821
Default

hey thats good news! Do you know offhand if fedora is compatible with it? is yours the only asus board they have for the 740(?i think) socket? what does it have on it...I would just check but the site is down
Dunadan1821 is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 11:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

anandtech had a review of windows 64 bit trial the benchmarks were shockingly bad it ran better in 32 bit that 64
__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 11:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

have to wait until the 64bit window come out only we know whether got improvement or not.
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 12:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 321
Default

hey didi...... i knew u where frm asia d way u talked...... (got) which part of m'sia r u frm?
__________________
|New|Gaming|System|2|Be|:

AMD 64 bit 3500+ Socket 939
MSI K8N Neo 2 Plat. Socket 939 mobo
Corsair TWINX1024-3200 RAM
Nvidia GeForce 6800 GT Graphic Card
Altec Lansing 5051 Speaker system
Creative Sound Blaster live 7.1
Maxtor SATA 200Gb HDD
Plextor PX-712A DVD±R/RW Drive
Wired Mouse/Keyboard by Logitech
Samsung 795MB Flat Screen CRT
Raidmax Scorpio 868W Casing
Antec Truepower 430 or 480
Thermaltake (Pipe101) Heatsink
Thermaltake Street Fighter Fan
derfist is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 12:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by YourPrinter
anandtech had a review of windows 64 bit trial the benchmarks were shockingly bad it ran better in 32 bit that 64
thats cause windows sucks
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 03:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GameGURU
thats cause windows sucks
thats the best explanation for every comp with windows
__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 04:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to Dunadan1821 Send a message via Yahoo to Dunadan1821
Default

hell yea!
Dunadan1821 is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 06:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

lol, they will come along hopefully...
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.