64 bit or 32 Bit? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2004, 11:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 29
Default 64 bit or 32 Bit?

What is the difference bettween an 64 bit processor and a 32 bit processor? Why do people buy AMD when it is slower than a Intel? Is it because AMD is 64 bit?
__________________

aznmandhs is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 12:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

This has been explained a thousand times, but here goes 1001

64bit processors allow for more bandwidth making everything faster. Until the AMD64, 64 bit was exclusive to server chips like the Itanuim and Opteron.

64 bit the future, but nothing that runs on a desktop currently uses 64 bit, everything is 32 bit. Windows is currently developing a 64 bit Windows, but I don't think thats do out till 2006

The AMD 64 FX-51 is AMD's flagship CPU and blows away standard P4's due to its on-die memory controller, large L2 cache and such. HOWEVER, Intel trumped the release of the FX-51 with its P4EE, which has a MASSIVE 2mb L3 cache, so in total 2.5mb of cache

The FX-51 and P4EE are pretty much neck and neck, but most benchmarks favor the P4EE as the winner, it all depends on who you speak to Not that many of us can afford either as the FX-51 is $700 and the P4EE is $1000 :amazed:

So for us poor folk, its between the 3.2 P4 and the AMD 64 3200+(though they just released the 3400+, which is marginally faster than the 3200+), to which there also pretty neck and neck, and the winner depends on who you talk to

You really need to look at the benchmarks for both, check your budget and decide for yourself on which is better
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 02:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

I do a lot of downloading.Stuff i read is impling that Microsoft is gonna be policing with Longhorn.Ill be using XP a long time if thats true.
Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 05:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260
Default

Ok, this is where I get confused. I thought there isn't windows 64 bit yet. But I found a MS link selling WinXP 64bit. So which one is right? Is 64 bit OS out there?
__________________
First Built Computer:
Antec Plus1080(SOHO File Server)+430w
Intel P4-3.0E 1M Cache
Asus P4P800-Dlx i865PE,800FSB Dual DDR400
WD 120G-8MB Buffer
LG 16X DVD
LG GSA4082B DVDRW 8X +/- Black
ATI Rdeon 9600XT 128M
Creative Audigy
512MB DDR PC3200
lavenderAC is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 06:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

Servers have run on 64 OS a while.This explains it pretty well.

http://www.infoprosjoint.net/modules...ticle&sid=1237


http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/64bit/
Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 06:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if you can choose between a good performing CPU, and a good performing CPU that does 64 bit, what would you choose?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 06:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260
Default

I think you should choose the 64 bits CPU since its the future..
__________________
First Built Computer:
Antec Plus1080(SOHO File Server)+430w
Intel P4-3.0E 1M Cache
Asus P4P800-Dlx i865PE,800FSB Dual DDR400
WD 120G-8MB Buffer
LG 16X DVD
LG GSA4082B DVDRW 8X +/- Black
ATI Rdeon 9600XT 128M
Creative Audigy
512MB DDR PC3200
lavenderAC is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 06:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

The one Intel makes. = ) . You need the program's to be 64 bit though also me think's.
Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 06:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

XP 64 bits edition
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 08:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
if you can choose between a good performing CPU, and a good performing CPU that does 64 bit, what would you choose?
The first one, because by the 64 bit comes out, I'm gonna need a complete PC overhaul anyway
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.