5vsb - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2005, 12:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 133
Default 5vsb

Hi,

Anyone explain whether I need to set the jumper for 5VSB on mobo or not - it is set as the mobo came packaged, but it doesn't sound like I need it.Can someone explain a bit about SB mode. Thanks.
__________________

duncan is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 12:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Depends on the motherboard, dude. Read the manual. There's a lot that could be going on.

Basically, if you don't understand the setting, and the machine is working good, don't mess with it. If you're experiencing problems, let us know about them.

It all depends on the SB, how the motherboard handles it, what the specs are of the components attached to it or running on it, etc etc. Write an email to the mobo manufs. and see what they say. They'll know best.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 02:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 133
Default

the mobo manual is crap and sais nothing about other than which jumper settings result in which choice - for anyone else reading this post i hae discovered elsewhere that 5vsb is about being able to wake up your system from suspend to RAM mode where some element of the system memory is retained for quicker restart i presume http://www.hardwareanalysis.com/content/topic/3721
so hope this helps, me i dont want to use this and so will set to just normal 5volt setting.

Cheers
duncan is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 02:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Only other thing I can suggest is what I suggested earlier. Email the mobo manuf.'s and ask them what to do. If their manual is lousy, that's all you got.

I had similar problems with my current MSI board. Not a jumper problem, but a problem with the manual being too vague. I Emailed them, and got the problem sorted out quickly.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 03:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 133
Default

ok cheers - the cdrom that came with the mobo is worth the price for amusement factor alone - it's asrock with some chinese bird explaining tha component layout - hhmmmm - not reading off a script or anything - quite funny
duncan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.