550 or 480 watt PS? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2005, 11:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 133
Send a message via AIM to Augsy
Default

canadacomputers only sells 1 neopower supply and it's $148

thats a little to much.
__________________

__________________
My LeEt CoMp
Asus A8N-SLI
AMD Athlon 3500+ venice
Enermax 535 watt PS
2 x 512mb OCZ premier series
XFX 6800 GT (1100/400)
WD Sata II 250 GB HD w/16mb cache
Lite-on 1693S DVD-RW
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
windows xp pro
Augsy is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 12:03 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 133
Send a message via AIM to Augsy
Default

whats wrong with truepower?

are there any other(480 watt) power supplies which run well with pci-e?
__________________

__________________
My LeEt CoMp
Asus A8N-SLI
AMD Athlon 3500+ venice
Enermax 535 watt PS
2 x 512mb OCZ premier series
XFX 6800 GT (1100/400)
WD Sata II 250 GB HD w/16mb cache
Lite-on 1693S DVD-RW
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
windows xp pro
Augsy is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 03:00 AM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

truepower is twenty pin

a pci-e mobo has a 24pin power connector socket

although it will work, it's kinda risky IMO

try to find a 24pin thermaltake or OCZ

also, why are you looking at canadacomputers? they have barely anything

go to ncix.com, much bigger and has a wide selection of stuff
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 06:06 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

I run a PCIE mobo on a 20 pin. It can be done, but its a lot safer to get a 24 pin connector. I just havent gotten around to getting an adaptor yet
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 07:25 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yo Augsy heads up for some good Canadian sites since you appear to be Canadian

http://ncix.com/
http://www.vibecomputers.com/
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 07:49 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

480W will be enough for what you have, just don't get a cheap brand.
Thermaltake, Antec and Enermax are the better PSU brands
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 12:39 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 133
Send a message via AIM to Augsy
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Yo Augsy heads up for some good Canadian sites since you appear to be Canadian

http://ncix.com/
http://www.vibecomputers.com/
these prices are more though?
Augsy is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 07:47 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Augsy
these prices are more though?
Their both Canadian stores, Canadian prices.

NCIX is defiantly one of Canada's cheapest stores.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 10:25 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 133
Send a message via AIM to Augsy
Default

for example an athlon 3500+ socket 939 at ncix.com is $402, at canadacomputers its $345, plus ud have to pay shipping at ncix.

ram seems to be around atleast 25 dollars more also. I didn't see anything cheaper at ncix unless it was a sale price.
Augsy is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 10:27 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

www.vibecomputers.com
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Closed Thread

« my cpu | Ram!!!!!! »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.