512mb stick + 256mb one...will it work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2005, 03:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 42
Default 512mb stick + 256mb one...will it work

Hey, I just found a stick of 256mb ram lying around from my dads old computer, and its the same pc2100 as the one in my computer. I have just one of 512 in there, and would want to know if I could just add the 256 stick to the system. Ive heard or read somewhere that memory has to come in pairs of identical size or just by themselves. Is that true, or is there some settings I can do to change that if my mobo is indeed like that.

btw, I have a Gigabyte GA-8IEXP mobo
__________________

adinu is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 03:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160
Default

I had a 128 and a 256 in my other system. I don't see why it wouldn't work.
__________________

__________________
Gateway 506GR
CPU: Intel P4 Prescott 550 HT 3.4Ghz
MOBO: Intel D915GAG
RAM:1Gb (2x512) Samsung DDR400 PC3200 3,3,3,8
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM SATA 200GB
VGA: Diamond Stealth Radeon 9200SE
PSU: Thermaltake TR2 430W
Dan DeVille is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 03:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Yes, they will work, giving you 768mb's of RAM. You won't have to configure anything. But in order for two DIMM's to run in Dual Channel, then they should be indentical (same size, same speed, same timings...).

But try it out, and see how it goes.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 03:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

256 is jus a f**ked up number just get another 512 and ull have 1 gb and it will be pwnage 256= no big diffrence
bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 03:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 42
Default

Ok, so I put the second stick in, and its going to teh load up screen and thats it. When I used just the old stick by itself it worked fine, and when I used just the 256 stick by itself it wouldnt even turn on.

So I checked it out, and it turns out taht the 256 one is ECC, and I have to change some settings for that to work. Where would I go about doing that, or finding out if my mobo is compatible.

And would it be ok that one stick is doin ECC and the other isnt?
adinu is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 03:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

u just put the 256 or 512 w/e u have and then u go 2 my computer u right click and proprties the nu lok down and it shud say 756 or w/e how much u put it shud add it
bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 03:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

your motherboard most likely doesnt support ecc. you probably cant use it. list your motherboard make/ model
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 03:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 42
Default

Gigabyte GA-8IEXP
adinu is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 03:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ekÆsine
your motherboard most likely doesnt support ecc. you probably cant use it. list your motherboard make/ model
Sounds like it
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 04:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

according to tom's hardware:

http://www6.tomshardware.com/motherb.../i845e-17.html
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.