512mb graphics? maybe . . . 1024?!?! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2004, 12:32 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

do you play doom3?
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 01:40 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah doom3 on all ultra settings is said to require a 512mb card really otherwise you'll experience lag spikes. They also said that theres a 'secret' way of getting the resolution past 1600x1280(?) up to like 2034x1600 or something like that and with that high *** resolution with everything on ultra and aa and all that good **** was absolutely amazing and that even ID software developers were amazed to see it like that. But yeah...512mb = :drool: but still even the 128mb 6800 card will own for atleast a couple years to come =)
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 01:45 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

The next card I will get will definately be Nvidia. After my experience with the X800 Pro, I have to say that ATI sucks. I will probably wait for the 1GB cards to become mainstream, then upgrade.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 02:21 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I can't imagine a 1gb card. the 6800 card is the creation of 2 years of work and they are already working on the next card thats 2 years ahead. How much faster can they get though with current technology being that look how damn big the heatsinks and fan on the new cards are. Heats becoming quite the issue now-a-days but along with that in the 6800 and X800 case is size =/
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 03:53 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Well more tech comes better tech. They are working on a non conductive and non erosive liquid that you can fill your pc (special case) with and that'll cool it down. Of course this liquide leaks into things so it is far off as of now...
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 04:31 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jolancer
is it not possbile for them to just make a ddr dimm slot on the card, so u can put in as much ram as u like, be it 256/512, or 1gig
Of course it's possible, but the fact is.. they want your money... They don't want you buying a 64mb card and putting in 256mb of ram... another thing is that.. they put the amount of ram on the card that it'll use, there's no point in having 256mb on a geforce 2 card ya know.. last is that they don't want to make it take up room on the next pci slot.. it's supposed to fit in the agp area, although they're tending to get HUUUGE...
Demalii is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 09:24 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

3D-Labs makes some awsome high-end cards. We got a couple of $1400 dual-chip cards here at the office for CAD work and modeling.

If you do serious graphics work, there are companies (like 3D-Labs and ATI) who will build you a powerful card. In reality, the cards coming out to our desktops today (such as the x800 and 6800) are "mainstream" cards. No one at Pixar, ILM, MGM, etc, is using a x800 for work! Those people would rather blow up a maseratii than their boxes.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 09:14 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

exactly! it was stated who would use such cards when I mentioned the wildcat and oxygen cards and that the wildcat line must be cheap. My reply is, no these cards are actually MUCH better as they are used for professional graphics apps., but also (as you stated) are VERY expensive. case in point, high end oxygen cards run about $1200. they are not for the average home user, and THAT is why you have not heard of them but in graphics and professional video design, they are known.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 09:42 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

I heard about one of those graphics cards that's in the $1k+ range for professional stuff. I heard it wasn't very great for gaming though, which may or may not apply to similar cards.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 09:51 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

your probably right on that. they're not meant for that kind of apps., but I can't really say out of experience. but to say they are unknowns and cheap cards... heh, found it amusing.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.