512mb graphics card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2004, 07:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 178
Default 512mb graphics card

is this for real?

does this look any good? didn't know there was a 512mb graphics card even if it is on the expensive side
__________________

Shadow9684 is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 07:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Your link doesn't work for me, Shadow9684
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 08:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
does this look any good?
Depends on what you're going to do with it. Gaming, eh. Modeling, good. CAD-work, definetly.
Quote:
didn't know there was a 512mb graphics card even if it is on the expensive side
Sure there are. There's not a lot visible in the market, because most people don't need those kinds of boards and even fewer can afford them.

Specialty hardware can get pretty wild. Some leading manufacturers, like 3Dlabs, ATI-Corp, eVGA, and PNY, will make custom cards for anyone with the bucks. Of course, if the card is going to require development and software work, you pay for that, too.

The thing to look at right now, if yer into big bucks and big power, is having some of these suckers in PCI-Express with a dual link.
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 08:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 178
Default

lol if only i could afford it, maybe at the end on the month, i would be using it for some autocad2005 and flashmx and a whole lot of gaming, i think i'll wait for 512mb to be released main stream, dont wanna break the bank and PCI-E is a definite as soon as i can get it with amd
Shadow9684 is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 09:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

higher memory cards are for OpenGL Acceleration, though in general usage, nVidia 6800 series is coming with 512MB, as when they'll come out, there wont be any change in the chip design, just a new version will pop out with 512MB.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 05:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
just a new version will pop out with 512MB.
Yup...that'll be insane..but yeah that card you linked to is for high-end 3D developers and such...you didn't think they would render movies like Final Fantasy with a GeforceFX card did ya That particular card would probably be good just at 3D modeling programd and CAD and stuff like that already mentioned. Doesn't mean it would necessarily handle 3D games because that would take a different architecture, drivers, DirectX compatibilities, such like that. It might not have the 'instructions' to tell it how to draw the graphics of games ya know? But is built to draw lines and wire mesh screens and then fully render out those created images.
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 07:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
like Final Fantasy with a GeforceFX card
I'm not taking a shot at ya, but they often actually make those films with a lot less.

See, the creators run high-end machines with a more-or-less minimalist perspective view, knowing what their tools do and how things are going to turn out. It's the same way a filmaker takes shots of a movie, knowing that once he's done editing and adjusting the color and speeds, things will look different.

Then, once they've finished a set of frames (about 30) they throw it all into a compile dump, which chugs away overnight. An array of machines running multiple graphics processors churn away at the data, producing (the next day) the completed stack of frames, fully animated and rendered at movie-quality.

The frames are then reviewed and either accepted, or re-run the following night. It's a long and hard process. Much of "Toy Story" was compiled on machines running cards you could buy for $50 bucks today. They just weren't machines you could build with on the fly. It's not really practical to have a full-production view, in real time, anyway.

If you want a prime example of the outcomes of these processes, you can view the Extras on the Shrek movie DVD. They show (in the bloopers section) several night's worth of compile screw-ups, with collections of "rejected" screen material where shots were setup with faulty settings.

If you ever get a chance to visit the Dreamworks or Pixar studios, their workstations are a trip!...but looking around the corner you see a Matrix world of little machines that do the actual rendering work.
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 07:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I'm not taking a shot at ya, but they often actually make those films with a lot less.
:feeling like a deer in crosshairs: lol well thanks for not taking that shot. They might have used lesser cards, but as you put it, they use a compilation of many computers to do the job....which would be equal to one amazing graphics card I.E. the 512mb wildcat graphics card. My point is they don't simply sit there with a homebuilt computer and a graphics card me and you can get ahold of easily and make a 3D rendered film with it was all I was telling him, and to clarify what exactly these cards are for and why they are priced at $1000+
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 09:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
They might have used lesser cards, but as you put it, they use a compilation of many computers to do the job....which would be equal to one amazing graphics card I.E. the 512mb wildcat graphics card.
There's actually a lot more that goes on besides just the g-card boards. The last time I was in touch with someone at Pixar, they were running an MPP setup full of geforce-3 Pro 128's.
__________________

ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.