512Mb dual-channel or 768Mb regular? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2004, 01:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Zero Shift
Default 512Mb dual-channel or 768Mb regular?

Hi all, it's been awhile...

Anyway, I got a Kingston value 512Mb dual-channel PC3200 set from a friend recently, and my old Crucial 256Mb PC3200 stick has just been lying around in its case.
Always eager to boost my computer's performance, I couldn't help but wonder whether the extra 256Mb RAM would give a better performance jump than just going to dual-channel.
Also, there seems to be no clue anywhere as to whether i'm even in dual-channel mode, so in the case of not being in dual-channel mode, the extra 256Mb could only help.

So, I have two questions:
1: 512Mb dual-channel or 768Mb regular DDR?
2: how can I even tell i'm in dual-channel mode?
__________________

__________________
NZXT Guardian Case with Thermaltake PurePower 420w
FIC AU13 motherboard
AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 333FSB (Barton) with Thermaltake Silent Boost HSF
WDC 80Gb 8Mb cache 7200rpm
512Mb Kingston Dual-channel PC3200
MCP-T SoundStorm audio (integrated)
ATi Radeon 9800 Pro (it owned, until x800 and 6800)
Logitech Z-680 5.1 speaker system (integrated Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS, Pro Logic II decoding)
Logitech Cordless Elite Duo keyboard & mouse
Saitek Cyborg Evo joystick
Windows XP Pro SP1 (dont. install. SP2.)
Zero Shift is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 06:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 185
Default

I may be wrong, but I beleive that the dual-channel will still work if add the extra ram in. As long as you keep your ram you are useing in dual-channel mode in the slots designed for that you should be alright. Of course if i am wrong someone on here will correct me.
__________________

__________________
dfi nfII ultr infinity/asus p4s800
amd 2500xp m/p4 2.6
ati 9600/ati 9600 pro
512mb pc3200/512mb pc3200
trebor is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 06:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to D4RK GR4YL3N
Default

for dual channel to work each channel has to be equal. two 256 modules could work in dual channel but 3 could not. one 512 modules and 2 256 modules could, however, be used in dual channel mode. as for what is better, i dont think dual channel provides much increase in performance. i would use 768 mbs
__________________
Athlon 64 @ 2.3 ghz
Chaintech mobo
9800 Pro
1 gig RAM
2x 160 gig sata
Audigy 2 zs
dvd/cdrw
D4RK GR4YL3N is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 06:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Zero .... There's no differance in the the PC3200 modules(Crucial n' Kingston) u have.Both are standard 400Mhz memory modules.

There's no special Dual channel memory ... It's how those modules are mounted on the board which determines if the memory works in dual channel or not.

Look in to the mobo's manual to check what slots u need to have the memory modules inserted in. Also check what type of Ram u need to use for dual channel operation (i.e Double-sided or Single sided)

As far as i know i don't think u can use different sized modules together to operate in Dual channel

Finally ..I guess u'll wanna know the differance in performance..between dual channel operation n' normal operation

This post by Micro says it all
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 07:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 139
Default

To quote a friend, "RAM is RAM". In other words, dual-channel will improve the speed of the system, but the extra 256mb of RAM would be better to use. If I had the choice, I know I would use the extra RAM rather than using less of the dual-channel. The mobo I'm thinking of getting supports dual-channel, but I'm just going to go with a single stick of Mushkin 512mb of RAM (mostly because it's a little cheaper than getting two sticks of 256mb and I'm really cheap haha).
__________________
-The one and only Keebler Elf-
Squaggleboggin is offline  
Old 03-27-2004, 06:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Now that deadguy mentioned it ... i realised that in anycase ..ur memory would only run at 333 FSB ..since ur processor the 2600 xp+ runs at 333
__________________

__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.