512mb 6800 Ultra - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2005, 10:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

I have the 6800 Ultra, but I am pretty sure its 256mb.
__________________

__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 10:31 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

lol, yeah man its 256bit. You should know that! I cant wait to see the new mobo's for those cards. Before i know it, i'll be deciding what dual core i want, and how to afford a 6800 512bit card lol. I dont see that happening though... I wanted my next new system to be a Intel. But those new AMD's sound too sweet.

Hopefully i'll have a second job by then, so i can afford something like that. I think im going to spend alot of money on my next processor. I want to get something really good.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 12:22 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I'm pretty sure the bit doesn't coorelate with the memory amount. Meaning you can have a 256bit card with only 128mb like the 9800XT or something was like that? Could be wrong though.

But yeah majistic your card isn't 512mb, they arent out yet for the public.

Also ATI claims their 512mb card still performans faster than their 256mb because 'todays games are already surpassing the 256mb frame buffer' so I wouldn't be surprised if nvidia pulled the same kind of deal.

Just imagine how many nvidia spies were at the ATI overclocking convention in dallas this past weekend lol. Tons of new radeon motherboards and GPUs and whatnot.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 01:39 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

I believe its not the fact that it will run faster, but smoother. It will be able to store more textures at once, and not have to call to the main CPU for more instructions.
__________________

__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.