512mb 4200 rdram/1gb pc3200 ddr ram??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2003, 03:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 24
Default 512mb 4200 rdram/1gb pc3200 ddr ram???

I am thinking of building a computer and need to select the ram. I am thinking of P4 2.66/ Athlon xp 2600+ and i need to decide between 512mb rdram and 1gb ddr ram. any help would be great

John81 is offline  
Old 01-17-2003, 02:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv

What are you planning on using this computer for?

\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 01-17-2003, 05:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Martin's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422

If the 1 GB doesn't cost much over than 512, then go for it, but if it isn't, 512 mb is still quite plenty enough for web surfing / gaming /etc.
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 01-17-2003, 08:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 24

well i was going to use it for gaming/video editing and they cost about the same, rdram is faster but 1gb ddr ram seems about equal to 512 rdram
John81 is offline  
Old 01-18-2003, 10:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to h4x0r

Hmm... I have 512 MB DDR 2100, I use 3DS MAX 5 and all that good stuff, anyway, Ive never used my mem more than 300 MB.

I do gaming to the extreme and graphics design, but the peak has been 300 MB.
h4x0r is offline  
Old 01-19-2003, 08:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 44

I would get the Athlon XP 2600+. Either 512Mb or 1Gb should be suitable. Get the 1Gb if you can.

Hi! I\'m a signature virus. Copy me into your signature to help me spread.
pch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.