512MB to 1GB, or 333 to 400? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2005, 02:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

yea get the corsair you probably wont oc ram any ways
__________________

__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 02:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Yeah, that's a typo. The big difference is the twinmos uses Winbond BH-5 chips which can achieve some impressive speeds with enough vDIMM. Obviously if you're not going to overclock you'd be just as well with the corsair, but for 10 bucks more you get a lot more headroom if in the future you ever want to start experimenting with overclocking.

As far as the jump goes, your RAM and FSB are communicating at different speeds right now. Since the FSB is operating faster it has to wait for the memory and decreases memory bandwidth. You wanna have a 1:1 FSB/RAM speed ratio whenever possible.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 02:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Ok thanks. Yeah I'm not an OC enthusiast (just yet ). Knowing me I'd probably explode a PSU again or melt a core.

I'll invest in buying 400Mhz RAM... .
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 11:42 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Hello again...

Errm....I think I've forgotten one major factor......

I've forgotten about my processors FSB ...! This is a factor, right? I'm not sure what FSB my processor supports. I have an AMD Athlon XP 3000+ but don't know if it's 400Mhz or 333Mhz FSB.

Here is a CPU-Z reading:





...So does this mean my system is already running a 1:1 ratio?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 06:03 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

according to this, ur XP 3000+ should be 400 FSB, isn't it?

http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/..._11672,00.html

correct me if I am wrong please.
hkfnstang is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 06:34 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well most 3000's are 333 FSB

You wont notice a difference with DDR400, so get yourself another cheap stick of PC3200
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 04:49 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Okay...lol...back to the start . Thanks.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 10:46 AM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

yep, i also think the performance increase with 400 ram is not that big of a deal (not to mention if ur cpu is 333fsb). i'd just get another 512 of 333mhz (or 400, whateva is cheapest).
LoTeX is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 05:29 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hkfnstang
according to this, ur XP 3000+ should be 400 FSB, isn't it?

http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/..._11672,00.html

correct me if I am wrong please.
Hello,

Oooppss...sorry. I didn't see your post . Yeah...looking at the AMD site it instructs me that my Athlon XP 3000+ processor should be 400Mhz FSB. However, AMD have produced two 3000+ processors, one with 333Mhz FSB and the newest supporting 400Mhz FSB.

I've found this link during my research: http://www.amdboard.com/barton3000.html

Confoooosing aint it!!?? I think AMD neglected the 333Mhz FSB in their specs on purpose. Probably wanted to show the somewhat higher specs.



...Looking at these CPU-Z readings...I think my CPU is the 333Mhz version, with OPN: AXDA3000DKV4D (a breakdown of the OPN can be found here http://www.amdboard.com/amdid.html)

However I'm not certain, because I haven't checked the OPN label on the processor. Is there any way of finding out without having to remove the heatsink ?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 06:18 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Never mind . I've researched and discovered that...

...the 400Mhz FSB version of the AMD Athlon XP Barton 3000+ processor (OPN: AXDA3000DKV4D) has a multiplier of 11....

...while the 333Mhz FSB version of the AMD Athlon XP Barton 3000+ Processor (OPN: AXDA3000DKV4E) has a multiplier of 13...

These specifications are stated here http://www.amdboard.com/barton3000.html

This CPU-Z reading:



...shows that my processor has a multiplier of 13...and I haven't unlocked my multiplier or tweaked it. Therefore I must have the processor with OPN: AXDA3000DKV4E (the 4E meaning my processor has a 333Mhz FSB).

So it's still PC2700 333Mhz RAM for me (or those speeds anyways).
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.