512MB to 1GB, or 333 to 400? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2005, 01:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default 512MB to 1GB, or 333 to 400?

Hello,

I'm considering investing in more RAM- 512MB more RAM for my system to bring it up to 1GB.

My motherboard is an Asustek A7N8X-LA, supporting DDR RAM DIMMs up to 1 GB with two slots. Reading the specs, my motherboard supports 333 / 400 Mhz speeds. I currently have one stick of 512MB DDR RAM clocked at 333Mhz.

My question is, should I purchase another stick of 512MB DDR RAM at 333Mhz...or should I scrap my current RAM and purchase a stick of 512MB DDR RAM clocked at 400Mhz for my system? Is a jump from 333Mhz to 400Mhz worth it?

...of course, I could always purchase a stick of 512MB DDR RAM clocked at 400Mhz, and bung it in my system with the current 512MB 333Mhz RAM, even though they'd both operate at 333Mhz.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 02:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I would go for 1gb of ram, even though it would run at a slower speed, but having more ram would help quite a bit.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 02:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

I would just scrap your current ram for this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145440
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 02:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Whoaaa...!

...lol ....i'd go for that corsair kit but i'd prefer to stay low on price.....I'd even go for the unbranded...!

Thanks so far peeps.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 02:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 265
Default

^^I just bought that EXACT ram!
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3200+
160GB WD HDD
1GB Corsair 400Mhz DDR RAM
Leadtek 6600GT @ 575/1103
Lite-On DVD/RW
480 Watt Antec NeoPower
17\" LG TFT
haGGard is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 02:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Geting unnamed RAM is not a good idea, at $77, that's a steal.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 02:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Investing in faster RAM is your priority right now, you're running a 400MHz FSB with 33MHz RAM which leads to a bottleneck. I suggest this set of RAM, it is cheap, it gives you headroom, and costs about the same as regular value RAM.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 02:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
Investing in faster RAM is your priority right now, you're running a 400MHz FSB with 33MHz RAM which leads to a bottleneck. I suggest this set of RAM, it is cheap, it gives you headroom, and costs about the same as regular value RAM.
Thats actually more expensive than what I suggested, and they both have the exact same specs.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 02:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

..... ooohh price stretching....perhaps I have no choice...

Ok ok...i'll try and steer clear of unbranded RAM... ! Oh...you do now I'm running at 333Mhz not 33Mhz !!! :amazed: ... I'm assuming a typo...
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 02:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

...will a jump from 333Mhz to 400Mhz be that beneficial?
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.