50 FPS Doom 3? - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2005, 10:41 PM   #41 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I am with Alex on this one, BeeDubya does alot more than whine about his x800. He also is fully entitled to while about his x800.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 10:48 PM   #42 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Except it's clearly defective...
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 10:59 PM   #43 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Its obviously not defective....

Aquamark 3: 63,335
3DMark05: 5,174
Half Life 2 Stress Test: 139.64

I just get performance problems in Doom 3, and to a lesser extent in Far Cry.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 05:03 AM   #44 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
Its obviously not defective....

Aquamark 3: 63,335
3DMark05: 5,174
Half Life 2 Stress Test: 139.64

I just get performance problems in Doom 3, and to a lesser extent in Far Cry.
Those scores are better than what I get (see below), but that's another topic.

beedubaya, when you can run a timedemo (demo 1) for me on the EXACT following settings (don't forget to run it twice to eliminate any stuttering):-

Ultra quality
1280x1024
2x AA
8x AF
Vsync ON
All other settings on...

I get 38.7 fps. On these settings the game is more than playable, it'll drop to 30-35 fps during heavy action but overall not too bad.

I'm just very interested to see how your system copes with Doom 3 in comparison...
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 10:00 AM   #45 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
Send a message via AIM to Jerigorn Send a message via Yahoo to Jerigorn
Default

doom 3 was built to run on nvidia cards, so they will give better preformance than an ati card. the opposite is true for half life 2.
__________________
*Notebook*
~Dell XPS M1710
~2.16Ghz Intel Core Duo T2600
~2048 MB DDR2 @ 667Mh
~7900 GTX 512
~Media Center
Jerigorn is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 10:02 AM   #46 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
Send a message via AIM to Jerigorn Send a message via Yahoo to Jerigorn
Default

as with far cry, ati reigns supreme
__________________
*Notebook*
~Dell XPS M1710
~2.16Ghz Intel Core Duo T2600
~2048 MB DDR2 @ 667Mh
~7900 GTX 512
~Media Center
Jerigorn is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 10:11 AM   #47 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jerigorn
doom 3 was built to run on nvidia cards, so they will give better preformance than an ati card. the opposite is true for half life 2.

But Nvidia cards still run HL2 nicely, and 6600GT beats out any ATI card in their range on HL2 which is an ATI prefered game.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 02:09 PM   #48 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
But Nvidia cards still run HL2 nicely, and 6600GT beats out any ATI card in their range on HL2 which is an ATI prefered game.
True, I hate when people say Nvidia=Doom 3, ATI=Half Life 2. For one thing, the Doom 3 engine is far more graphically advanced than the Source engine. Second, Nvidia can play HL2 almost as well as ATI can, while ATI doens't even come close in Doom 3.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 02:27 PM   #49 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Yeah ATI is way behind all around.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 02:54 PM   #50 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Alex81388
Yeah ATI is way behind all around.
I wish my horrid mistake of getting the X800 Pro wasn't such an expensive one. I have pretty much given up on this card. Its just hard to spend $400 on another video card (6800 GT) when I just paid $400 for this piece of crap. $400 is A LOT of money to me.

BTW: Doom 3 stress test at 1280x1024, 2xAA, High settings

31.9

If I actually play the game at these settings, i am below 25 fps more than half of the time.

*EDIT* Far Cry also gives me framerate problems, much like in Doom 3. I average about 30 fps in Far Cry at 2x AA, 1024x768, Very High settings. While Far Cry is still playable at these settings, I would think it would be smoother on a $400 card, but then again, this is ATICrap we are talking about.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.