4x512 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2005, 01:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default 4x512

Alrighty, I'm thinking about upgrading my RAM sometime... I see some do 4x512 and some do 2x1024. I have 2 DDR slots and 2 DDR2 slots. Is it possible for me to do 4x512? Also, how does this work? Is it like double dual channel or something? I'm kinda confused.
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 01:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

pretty sure you can.... but everything will run at DDR speeds. Probabaly a waste of money just because of that.

I'd go 1024x2 just to keep it simple.
__________________

__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 01:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Actually, I almost positive that you have to use EITHER DDR or DDR2, you cannot use both. So in your case, you would have to use 2x1024.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

yeah, that's what I was afraid of. I don't want to scrap my 2x512 though.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

get 2x512 if you dont want to scrap them, but it's better for future upgrades to get 2x1024
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

hey man if i were you i would go with some dual channel 2 gig kit.. but do they even have that? or is it only dual channel 1 gig? nice pc setup
burned-ati is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 03:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Well, yeah you can get 2 gig dual channel.
But wait, so can I use 4x512 if I have 2 DDR and 2 DDR2 slots? Can anyone confirm for sure?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 04:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

You need to confirm for sure by looking in your mobo manual, but I'll put $10 down saying that No, you cannot.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 04:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Its like the migration from SDRAM to DDR. K7S5A boards along with a couple others had 4 slots. 2 for SDRAM and 2 for DDR. This was done to "future proof" your system. Same thing applies here. You can use either or, NOT both.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 04:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

So, if i want 2 gigs, I'd have to have 2x1024 then. Okay
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.