4ghz+ - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2005, 01:27 PM   #31 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Why is it a big deal to go after people who you think are lying about their computers/cpus???

Just let them say what they want, believe it or not, congradulate them, and they themselves are gonna be the ones with a heavy heart wishing they actually were running like they said.

Got a bunch of people here who think they are Honor-Cops.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 01:44 PM   #32 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 327
Default

intel stoppped research on making a 4 ghz proc to go after dual cores
__________________

Echo_ is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 02:35 PM   #33 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

Amd FX-55 C 3700Mhz+- Even at Stock speeds (2.6Ghz) It equals a Pentium 4 @ 3.9+- Ghz
Intel Highest Overclock 6.3Ghz
These are extreme speed i think A 2.2Ghz (Intel ) or amd equavalent processor is going to be mininum
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 02:41 PM   #34 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

The minimum to what?
If your talking about longhorn you are absolutely wrong!!!!
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 07:35 PM   #35 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

First of all, that stuff about Einstein and others work with computers that got too smart and had to be killed...Einstein was the first human to be able to explain and define inertia...PCs weren't even a twinkle of a dream in his eye, give me a break.

And as for longhorn's requirements, well let's see. In a survey of 1.3 million users of Valve's Steam software, average specs were:

2.0-2.3ghz Intel CPU
256-512mb Ram
Radeon 9800
70-80GB total HD space

And these are GAMERS. If the average GAMER only has a 2GHz cpu it would be absurd to make an OS with a requirement of double that. I would be extremely surprised to see a requiremnt of over 700mhz. I'd sell a kidney if it is 4-10GHz.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 08:10 PM   #36 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
The cooling is a triple stage phase change cascade at -122C.
Yeah I had seen that someone typed 'well its actuall phase change x phase change x phase change'

That's just insane.

And I didn't even know that you could make your own, neosteve, have you seen any plans for it that are really detailed on the net? For $100 I'd definitely want to attempt it, but even at $200 if you could actually build one (not even his triple cascade though, just a normal one) you'd still get like -45C

Just think of the possibilities lol, I could definitely get my XP-M past 3GHz with that.

If you know of a place that has some good detailed instructions on how to build one neosteve I'd appreciate it quite greatly. I'm going to try and do a little searching of my own too.

Quote:
Why is it a big deal to go after people who you think are lying about their computers/cpus???
because when you are talking world record speeds it's pretty important to know whether they are lying or not dont ya think.


EDIT: Here's about one of the only links for making your own phase change, although I highly doubt I could ever tackle such a project.

http://www.vr-zone.com/index.cgi?i=714&s=1

DOUBLE EDIT: Jeez man, these things are insane. Here's a link to the last page of another article on the same site regarding dual cascade phase change. Just look at the monsterous setup that they have there:

http://www.vr-zone.com/?i=618&s=18

It really isn't worth it unless you got a lot of time and know how....for the rest of us basically phase change is an impossibility unless I hit the lotto =/
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 11:08 PM   #37 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

well I got 50GHZ with my Pentium 3!!! [not really]
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 11:28 PM   #38 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default

aww sweet man!!! Good work Apokalipse!

(thats a Fox winking if it doesnt look like it)
FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 12:16 AM   #39 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

wouldn't the bus speed be like 2 or 4000....PSHT THATS A FAKE har har
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 12:21 AM   #40 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default

*pointing and laughing at Nubius* haha

Silly Moderator!
__________________

FoxyLoxy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.