4ghz+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2005, 12:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 365
Default 4ghz+

How long till we get past 4ghz?, How long till we get to 5ghz?
And how far can we get with the technology we have now?
I know Longhorn will require 4-10ghz. So im guesing we can do 10ghz at this time, right?
__________________

__________________
Elite Bullet is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 12:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371
Default

Who told you Longhorn will require 4 Ghz!!, I dont think Microsoft will sell many copies with those requirements
__________________

IAM_7154 is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 12:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 287
Default

Well people have got there by overclocking. I'm not sure how long but pretty soon 4 and even 5 will be standard, intel has said that they want to concentrate on other aspects of processors instead of Ghz, so they will probably be slow on getting there. There is new technology in the works which will drastically change the speed of the processor and they are also working on multi-core processors. MIT is also creating computer components from DNA so maybe in a few years our processors will be made from DNA, actual living pc's. Can someone say judgement day. We will have to be patient rushing into creating super fast pc's could lead to them becoming self aware, we will have to have preventitive measures in place to stop them from creating their own reality. Who knows we could be part of one right now. Einstein and some others managed to get one to become aware and it became too intelligent too fast, they had to shut it down/"kill" it.
__________________
\"Today\'s scientists have substituted mathematics for experiments, and they wander off through equation after equation, and eventually build a structure which has no relation to reality.\" Nikola Tesla
gab00n is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 12:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

I don’t know about what kind of processor you talking about but i think its might be Intel since AMD will take a while to get to 4Ghz and 5Ghz

Ok well people have gotten past 4Ghz a long time ago with a Pentium 4 but overclocked. Also past 5GHz.

The most people have gotten today is to about over 6Ghz overclocked and with heavy cooling below 0C.

As for longhorn I don’t know what the requirements will be but I think it wont be that high as 10.

As for AMD the highest overclocked one was about in the 3.7Ghz to 3.9Ghz also overclocked and with below 0C cooling temps.

Neosteve
__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 01:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 365
Default

AMD ATHLON 64 FX55 Socket 939

Thats the only 4ghz Processor i know of.
__________________
Elite Bullet is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 01:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 3lite Bullet
AMD ATHLON 64 FX55 Socket 939

Thats the only 4ghz Processor i know of.
That chip is only running at 2.6GHZ not 4GHZ, very nice hardware none the less.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 01:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 365
Default

no but its equivilant to the P4 4ghz thats what i mean
__________________
Elite Bullet is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 01:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

How is that possible though? I guess what I'm asking is where is AMD pulling that comparison figure when a Intel Pentium 4 4GHZ chip does not exsist? I haven't looked in a while but maybe they have one.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 01:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by IAM_7154
Who told you Longhorn will require 4 Ghz!!, I dont think Microsoft will sell many copies with those requirements
Yeah, the requirements will probably be less than 1GHz, in fact.

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 01:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 365
Default

K must of had an unreliable sorce for that info it was on this forums also im sure of it
__________________

__________________
Elite Bullet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.