4gb HDD enough top dedicate for system? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2005, 03:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 303
Default 4gb HDD enough top dedicate for system?

I know how some people say that i should have 1 harddrive dedicated solely to the system configs and their operations and such. I was wonder, trying to be cheap and save some money, is 4gb enough for this. I would assume so, but u never know. the hard drive im planning to use is a old one witha max of 4 gb. So u can tell its old. Will this serve my purposes? Or can i just dedicate my one hard drive to everything?

Sig reinstated. SigSanta
Arumuni is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 03:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006

No, don't sue a 4gb. It probably has 2MB of cache, and spins at 5400 RPM. Not good if you want a windows to be quick and snappy.

6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 04:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

Your going to have some crappy windows loading times. Not only that, your programs will load slower. not worth it IMO. Just buy a big drive and partition it.
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 04:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790

yeah, you can format and archive individual partitions on a single drive
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 05:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 303

Ehhe. Sweet. THanks guys.
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
Arumuni is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.