4gb or 2gb memory with different timings - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2007, 03:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 100
Default 4gb or 2gb memory with different timings

Hey guys, im in a bit of a dilemma

i can either go with

4gb (2x2gb) of supertalent ram ddr2 6400 800mhz with 5-5-5-15
or 2gb (2x1gb) of crucial ballistix ram ddr2 6400 700mhz with 4-4-4-12

what would be the better choice?

enthusiast1917 is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 09:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 90
Default Re: 4gb or 2gb memory with different timings

crucial ballistix man, they got a good rep. 2 gb is basically what u need standard 4 gb is overkill

Chrysamere is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 01:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 90
Default Re: 4gb or 2gb memory with different timings

Id go with the crucial to. the timings are lower, and in reality 4 gig is a little on the overkill side for most stuff. unless you are doing some major graphics design or something, 2 gig is all you need even if you do a lot of high tech gaming. course im putting 8 in my system next summer just to make sure my system will handle the games for a few years, so 4 gig might be a good idea just to get a jump on the market. though Id find memory with lower timings. Patriot makes 4 gigs (2 x 2 gig) ddr2 at 4-4-4-12 thats good quality memory, its only like 120 bucks on newegg.
the_patriot2008 is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 01:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
peterhuang913's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 4gb or 2gb memory with different timings

Crucial: Tighter timings > Higher clocks. You can eventually get those clocks anyways.

My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 06:15 AM
/3GB switch, serious problems Forze Microsoft Windows and Software 8 10-26-2007 12:54 PM
fixing memory timings after cpu overclock regeisle Overclocking and Modding 22 08-17-2007 06:22 PM
Memory MOdules Problem - Timings Please Help babistor Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 05-03-2007 04:57 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.