46* full load on soket a - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2005, 12:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default 46* full load on soket a

any good? I think it's too hot what do you think
__________________

GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 12:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

46 degrees C? shouldn't the temperatures not be dependant on the socket specification?
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 12:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

yea it's celcius
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 12:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

thats not bad i guess i get 38 c idle on my p4 with the fan half way.. full blasrt will drop me to the 62's probABLY
bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 12:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

38 to 62 seems like an increase to me, not a drop.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 01:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
shouldn't the temperatures not be dependant on the socket specification?
He's simply letting us know what chip he's using to some degree because obviously an AMD64 might run hotter.

46C is good dude, don't know why you'd think that's hot. There's quite a few posts in here about peoples XP's hitting 55C's on idle muchless 46C at full load
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 09:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

welll yes nubius don't the 64 run hotter? and thatnk you i'll try to overclock to 55 full that'll not be bad.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 09:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

WTF i have to 80mm fans like doing 80 cfm and i went up from 1.33 to 1.35 and went up about 10 degress is this correct. what am i doing wrong?
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 11:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

change ur cpu heatsink !! the fans in ur case dont matter there blowing all over they have no access 2 the chip because ur heatsink is sitting on it!! get a betterheatsink
bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 04:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

With stock HSF it doesn't take much of a voltage increase to boost your temps dramatically
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

« Latencies. | Raid 0 »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.