40 Gb Hd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2005, 10:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Default 40 Gb Hd

The laptop I own comes with a 40gb hard drive, and because I have so many files, I filled it up (literally) in the first 3 weeks of use. I want to transfer the files to a new 120GB hd I am going to buy, although I do not want to lose files. I just want a simple, plug in, and set to copy EVERYTHING. When I say everything I eman OS, Drivers, Partations, EVERYTHING. Thanks

-orb
__________________

orbstra is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 10:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
Default

120GB? R u serious? r trying to send the first human into space? you need to stick with wat you got, your os will be fine.
__________________

chad standing is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 10:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Trust me, I reformated my laptop the day I got it, the skill to do it is not a problem. I am REALLY do not want to go through all that again. That is why I am here!
orbstra is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 12:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

to transfer your old data to a new hard drive, you use norton ghost

you can get it by downloading limewire or azereus, and searching for it

120 GB isnt alot of HD space, i have 200 GB right now
talldude123 is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 03:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Where did you get it from, the bigest I could find on a laptop is a 120GB on Newegg. I hae a 250GB on my desktop and once I finish the SUPER pc I am building in a few years, it will have a terrabyte of space. It sounds alot but its 4 HD's.
3 300GB
1 200GB

It will cost alot but most peopel think 1000 gigs is unheard of, it's not.
orbstra is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 03:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

1000GB can be bought from dell
talldude123 is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 04:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

oh also you will need a usb HD encloser to move the stuff from the 40 gig to the 120
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 05:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Default

like a portable harddrive. I am going to get one anyways sooooooo.
orbstra is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 07:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

yah but i thought you wanted the 120 gig internal? that why ai sugested a temp case to do the transfer the put that hd in and use the 40 gig in the HD case
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 03:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i had a 80gb external drive, as long as you have USB2 is really nice and fast, well worth the investmant.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.