4 noob questions - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2005, 10:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

$200 is where the best cards start falling into the market. Just go w/ a 6600 GT, or if you feel like waiting - prices should drop substantially once the 512 cards come out (512 cards the most expensive, people will cease to buy 6600 GTs and 6800 GTs)
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:40 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

what sort of video do you have now? depending on what videocard you have currently, you might want to consider more meaningful parts like extra RAM or a new processor. and stay away from 512MB cards unless you have a million dollars. the 512MB videocards in your price range blow *cough* Geforce 6200 *cough*.
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:47 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GrimReaper23
Well do you know any good website for benchmark tables
you gonna put this in that 1.3ghz athlon?If so, why?That thing will have a rough time feeding a decent 128mb card.
horndude is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:51 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
you gonna put this in that 1.3ghz athlon?If so, why?That thing will have a rough time feeding a decent 128mb card.
That's just what I was thinking, you're gonna have a huge bottleneck through your system. Save your money together and build a new system from the ground up. You'll appreciate the $200 value of the 6600GT a lot more putting a grand or so in a nice Athlon 64 nf4 system than in the Socket A.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:58 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

If you guys are into off topic conversation, i currently have a:
AMD newcastle skt 754 3000+
Some random mobo...
ATI Radeon 9250 Xtsay (AGP)

and i was wondering if a AGP 6600 GT or an AGP 6800 would help games any. I was also wondering if it's worth getting a new 754 mobo for PCIe...but i don't think i'm completly upgrading the system...
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 11:24 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

dunno, im not up tp date on how much diff there is tween an ATI 9250 and a 6600 or 6800, your CPU could probably easily feed a high end 128mb card I would think, even being a 754

personally, I think as long as not too many more game makers use the doom rendering engine present in doom3 I would think many of you guys will be ok upgrade wise for awhile, doom3 is one hungry beotch, so is x-plane
horndude is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 11:26 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

here...i'll give you a difference...
9250= about $80
6600=about $100
6800= about $300
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 11:37 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

ya but price doesnt always tell the whole tale, a PC is like anything else, the parts have to match up performance wise or your wasting $$, and the games your gonna play do too

sat down yesterday for a few minutes and played x-plane on a newer G5 Mac, the game was using 685mb of system memory, yikes !!
horndude is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 11:56 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

I can play swg and cs 2.0 at the same time

30fps in swg (limited by the game, its kind of annoying.)

140 fps in cs2.0

Save up and get an sli motherboard with a 6600gt (like 300$ total)
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 12:00 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

OK well I know that my processor will bottleneck it but I need to get the most "expensive" thing for my birthday because this summer I'mm make about 600 USD and then I will take that upgrade Ram Processor and Mobo then It'll be all well. Do you kinda get what I'm saying?
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.