4 7200 drive in raid0

Status
Not open for further replies.

aj2003

Daemon Poster
I can get ahold of another 2 120gig seagate quite cheap, well about £20 (GBP) less than normal. so wat kind of performance increase would having 4 of these in riad0 (i already have 2) and they give me a transfer rate of 92mb/s.

I know the speed increase would only be in loading windows or loading games.

also when ppl say they can boot their computer in xx seconds where do they stop the timer? cos i can be at my login screen in about 7 seconds max but it wont of loaded my windows settings :s

I start mine when I push the button to turn it on and end it when it has finished loading everything, and it takes 33 seconds :p

I have no experience of using raid, so I can't answer the main question.

Rosk would double? What kind of risk? I mean, the risk of losing data with RAID 0 is reduced by at LEAST 50%.

yea i know raid isnt made for performance, but doesnt mean we cant use it for that :p

u think it would decrease performance?

ive never had a hard drive fail on my yet, touch wood. but i do back my stuff up regularly. just wondering how much of an increase it would be to load windows/ game level?

Performance won't increase, and it won't stay the same. If anything it will decrease. The difference may not be noticable, or it may be noticable. Either way, adding more drives to a raid deck doesn't increase performance. That's bad logic.