3Dmark05 compairison. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2005, 05:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

I must stress: HL2's the only game which that happens in...
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 05:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah I understand that, but eh, it still looked gorgeous and more crisp either way
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 07:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DoomUK
I must stress: HL2's the only game which that happens in...
HL2 can't run with 6x AA on Nvidia cards, so it defaults to no AA. Put it on 4x and you will be great.

5173 is my 3dmark05 score.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 08:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
HL2 can't run with 6x AA on Nvidia cards, so it defaults to no AA.
You sure? Because going from 4x to 6x didn't look crappy to me, which you're basically implying it'd go from 4x to no AA seems like I would have noticed the jaggies get worse
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 09:11 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

3558

3200+/6600gt/1gig ram all stock
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 07:21 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
HL2 can't run with 6x AA on Nvidia cards, so it defaults to no AA. Put it on 4x and you will be great.
That's a new one to me...

BTW, the last time I ran 3DMark05 on the specs below I got 5,335. My record score was 5,741 (after bumping my system frequency up to 220, my GPU overclocked to levels of sillyness ).
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 02:15 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

doomUK....

i played around with AA and AF for a bit to find optimal settings for the 6600gt. what i found was....

if you have AA enabled in you Advanced Display settings... that will overly HL2's internal AA settings.. so you either need to....

)set your Advanced Display settings to 'aplication controled' and use HL2's ingame AA settings.

)or what i do is... Specify the AA settings in Advanced Displays settings... and turn HL2's ingame AA to none... this gave me the best resault.... especially since my Advanced display settings can go up to 8x... HL2's settings only go up to 6x.

If you have BOth the ingame and advanced display AA enabled... it will look more jaggy.... u can test this some were with powerlines ingame.... exampled i was doing my settings test at the first level were u run into the Helicopter... it right after were u need to plile up those cinder blocks to get over the wall and up into the water way or cannal or whatever it is.
----------------------------------------------------
quick question.... when i was testing setting... it didnt appear that AA afected performance to me watso ever. weather it be 2x or 8x. but i did notice some performance drop at 16x AF.

Did AA not realy affect u guys also?

and i didnt run any timedemos yet(i still have to find them) but what do u think of these fps readings..... same specs....

)1024x768 res(highst res monitor on it currently supports, will test with diff monitor) highest everything.(no tweaks to HL except enabled cl_showfps), ingame AA disabled. Advanced AA 4x, AF 8x, Quality image settings.

)in large areas with lotsa detail the peak low is 24fps. small areas the peak high is 100 something about 155fps.

most of the time its always around 60fps. 100fps in hallways. 50fps ween im on the water bout thingy and chased by the helicopter.
jolancer is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 02:57 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default

AMD FX-55, 6800 Ultra, 1gig Corsair XMS ram

Score=5,561
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 04:31 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

Very nice work Nubius

My score is in my Sig. Although i dont know why my set up gets such crap results... aw well

Cheers-
__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 09:33 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

Those scores are fine. I've got more or less the same setup as you and I get around the same...

ive got a 3.2, p4p800e-Deluxe

all these are stock
Aquamark - 51k
3dMAkr01 - 16.5k
3dMark03 - 7.9k
3dMark05 - 3.3k

So you've got nothing to worry about, they are fine.
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.