3800, 3500,or 3200? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2005, 09:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default 3800, 3500,or 3200?

AMD Athlon 64. Which one. i am ready to buy the 3200+ but i keep thinking that i might regret it later....


how big of a performance difference between the 3200, 3500, and the 3800?
__________________

SteveGTA is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 09:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

nah, you'll regret it if you get the 3800

it's either 3500 or 3200

the 3200 can easily be OC'd to 3500 speeds

and plus, if you can afford a 3500, then get a x800xl instead

btw, why are you getting SLI? the dfi lanparty ultra-d is much better
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 09:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default

what about the...

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...136-157&depa=1

should i get that or....

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...136-152&depa=1

and then if i get the second one bump up to the 3500+?
SteveGTA is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 09:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well between being SLI and not their's a few small differences that involve the D and DR

I would get the Ultra D and bump it up, since you dont not 100% need an SLI board and it would be nice, and if it didnt work (and the mobo still worked) it wouldnt be soo bad.

Get a 3200+ and decent ram and OC
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 09:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well between being SLI and not their's a few small differences that involve the D and DR

I would get the Ultra D and bump it up, since you dont not 100% need an SLI board and it would be nice, and if it didnt work (and the mobo still worked) it wouldnt be soo bad.

Get a 3200+ and decent ram and OC it to FX-55 speeds not hard to do
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 09:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

the 3200+ is a fantastic processor. I own one myself, and it is very powerful. in half life 2, it beats the P4 3.8ghz!
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 09:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default

what is the difference between winchester and newcastle cores etc.
SteveGTA is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 09:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

I dont know the specifics, but the winchester cores are much better overclockers.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 10:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

winchester uses 90nm core, cooler than newcastle

you want winchester, not newcastle
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 10:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default

so basically.... the 3200+ is just as good as the 3500+ given that it runs cooler than the 3500 so you could overclock it more?

i am also thinking that i might as well just get the 3200 and wait for the dual cores to start coming out and then i wont have such a hard time switching over, given i will have spent 190 on my CPU and not 400 dollars.

( does the dfi lanparty and the 3200+ winchester sound good to you guys?)
__________________

SteveGTA is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.