3700 San Diego - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2006, 05:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default 3700 San Diego

u guys think the 3700 san diego processor will last for the nexx 3 years?
__________________

123Justin is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 08:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 185
Default

Maybe the next 2 years, since later on in 2006 AMD will release socket M2, along with its processors.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon-64 3000+
MSI K8N Neo4-F nForce4
1024 MB [512x2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory
ATI Radeon X700 256MB
80GB Hard Drive 7200 RPM
chickenfoot is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 08:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

They're actually calling them socket AM2.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 08:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default

ohh icic, so its safe to say that i shoud buy a 3700 and not the x2 dual cores becuz if AM2 does come out, then those x2 processors wouldnt be that goood anymore, so buy a cheap 3700 now and wait till am 2 comes out. cool thanks.
123Justin is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 08:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

so does that mean with the new am2 mobos that socket 939 will be obselete or is it kind of like how socket 754 is now to socket 939, in that thye will still be around ?
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 08:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default

yea they shoud be around, but they just wouldnt be the TOP stuff anymore, AM2 will be
123Justin is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 09:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

o i see. So it is like socket 754 now. They are still around but they just aren't top stuff anymore.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.