3500+ Clawhammer same speed as 3700+ San Diego? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2005, 02:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default 3500+ Clawhammer same speed as 3700+ San Diego?

Both run at 2.2 GHz, does anyone know what makes the San Diego more?

Also is the Venice better than the Clawhammer?
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 02:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

San Diego's run faster artechtually
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 02:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Venice is better than clawhammer, and san diego is better than both of them. Clawhammer is 130nm, and does not support SSE3, Venice is 90nm, and supports SSE3, but only has 512K of L2 cache. San Diego is 90nm, supports SSE3, and has 1MB of L2 cache.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 03:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Chris has the right idea, the 3500+ Clawhammer is socket 754 based and has a slower Hypertransport bus(1600MHz) which hinders performance. The 3700+ has a 2000MHz Hypertransport bus which gives it that little edge.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 03:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Ok, well done thanks.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 07:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

dang, i thought you were good at computers and stuff... didn't expect you to ask... oh well
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 08:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Haha, ok just because I didnt know that answer means I am dumb when it comes to computers. I know ALOT about computers, that's where I am going in life.

However to KNOW something about computers, you have to learn it, they just taught it to me.

__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.