333mhz to 400. Worth it for me? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2004, 04:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 134
Default 333mhz to 400. Worth it for me?

Hiya,

How much of a performance diff will upgrading to a XP3200+ 400 fsb and pc 3200 Ram have over my current cpu/ram which is 333mhz?
I'm not talking right now as prices are still too high, maybe in 6 months or so.
Thing is i like to squeeze as much out of my pc's before changing the mainboard and the xp3200+ is as far as i can go on this one.

Cheers!
__________________

chadley is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 04:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

There will be a noticable difference, but nothing too spectacular.
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 06:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Yeah, won't be a huge jump, but the prices on Athlon XP's are getting so cheap it should be worth it
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 06:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

what about lowering the multiplier of the CPU and raising the frontside bus to 200 so that you can have PC3200 ram without changing out your processor =) Believe your multi will be locked though, but overclocking could always be a possibility
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 06:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 134
Default

Yea i'm hoping that the prices will keep dropping enuff to warrant it later. I'm glad i'll see a diff although i wasn't quite hoping of an extra 5000 in 3dmark03

I don't really wanna overclock my 3000, shes running a little hot at the mo till i get some decent cooling in there over the weekend.
Also i have no cash for pc3200 ram at the mo either after getting a new graphics card last week.

Anyway i'm not desperate for upgrading yet, it's just that i like to plan a little bit ahead

Cheers 4 replies
chadley is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 07:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

what kind of temps? I'm not overclocking or anything and with stock HSF and generic crappy compound I'm at 54C right now at idle =/
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 04:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 134
Default

Mines been on all night d/l and just looked now and it's 49.
It's not the idle i'm worried about tho as the temp rises to around 65 after a session on doom3 or farcry.

My case doesnt have a fan (doh!) so hopefully getting a decent one 2mo will help!
chadley is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 05:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if you have a Barton core CPU, you will not be able to change the multiplier
you won't be able to utilize the full 400MHZ of RAM without the CPU's FSB being at 400MHZ, as 333MHZ will be bottlenecking it
if you want 400MHZ RAM, you will either need to overclock the FSB of your 3000+, or upgrade to the 3200+
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.