3200 Win or venice (939) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2005, 08:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default 3200 Win or venice (939)

im getting into the the 64 and im thinking of preodering the venice 3200 but i dont know whats the big diffnce, from the 3200 winchester and the venice. So i dont know which one i should get. This is all for game and stuff so which ever one is better and plz give good detail. Because i mit preorder it tonight and stuff. So i would like to know the Better thing the venice core is offering.
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 08:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

The venice core is a bit better than the Winchester, with having better architecture and SSE3 instructions. The venice core will get you about 1fps (roughly) more, but it is worth getting the newer technology than getting the older. I don't know how much the venice is going to be, but the winchester would of gone down in price because it is the older one.

I would go for the venice if I was you, but it is not alot better unless you are overclocking, as I think they are meant to be able to get high overclocks on less voltage. Do a quick search.

Also be prepared to flash your bios.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 09:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

i would get a winchester, the venice is the new chip so expect to pay throug the teeth for it, whereas the winchesters are gonna drop as soon as its out, so saving you money which you can spend else where.
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 09:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

ok well preorder is about 210 for the boxed 3200. i Have that and stuff. I want to know what better the new tech or the old tech. It seems that the wincther is going down already. I iknow this but which one will have better performence. in gaming im building a new system and stuff so that y im asking which one is better. I hear that the new Venice is going to have better things to it then the winchecter.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 10:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

I say Venice.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 12:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

I'd go for the Winchester, wait for the Venice to come out so you can see benchmarks and what not.
Yea, newer technology is great, but its not really worth it, if it doesn't go all that much faster.
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 08:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 163
Send a message via Yahoo to xenosoul
Default

Winchester.. I agree 100% with Joeisalsocool
xenosoul is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 09:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Venice is practically the same as the Winchester, however from results I've seen and read the Venice easily overclocks up to about 2.8GHz on near stock vcore.

The Venice also has an improved memory controller and SSE3 instructions. I'd pick the Venice.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 10:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

what about a mobo for this new venice core. And how do you overclock a 64 bit quick question ive seen people show a thing on hear that looks like a set-up page to overclock or do some stuff on it. Just wondering
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 10:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

You can use any existing socket 939 board for the Venice core.

Overclock via the BIOS, increase the HTT to increase CPU speed, and decrease the multiplier to keep it below 2000. Remember to lock the AGP/PCI and adjust your RAM and volage accordingly.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.