32-bit transfer? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2005, 04:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 67
Question 32-bit transfer?

hi,
just upgraded my system and on the bios screen of my new motherboard there's an option to allow 32-bit data transfer for my hard drives. What does enabling this do and is it best to use it or not??

cheers,
joe
__________________

JoeTheIdiot is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 10:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Try it, see what happens. Probably wont hurt anything, stuff just wont work until you set it back to what it was before. But thats only if it will hurt anythign by turning it on. If it works it works, if it dosent it dosent.

honestly, I have never seen that type of thing before. So, if your feeling saucy, try it and see what happens. But only if your willing to accept the reprocusions should something go awry.

P.S. You cant hold me responsible should any damage should you incuur to your computer.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 01:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 116
Send a message via AIM to B34ST1Y
Default

Basically, when you send data, typically, nowaday processors are 32 bit processors, meaning that there are 32 "threads" of binary flowing through it at once. Before (I think its 2000 anway) windows 2K, the Windows OS' were programmed to utilize 16bits of whatever amount your processor could handle, thus, thats why win95, 98, 98se, ME, and ther others before it, were SO SLOW. Now, addressing your hard drive. I believe that most fairly old hard drives run at 16bit....not sure so don't quote me on it. If the harddrive you have, supports 32 bit (if it doesn't and you enable it, it SHOULD just default back to normal) then essentially, you get more data from your harddrive.


Hope that helps!



Beastly
B34ST1Y is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 02:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 67
Default

yeah thanks for clearling that up for me!
much appreciated!

joe
JoeTheIdiot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.