3½ drive disappeared - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2005, 10:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Post 3½ drive disappeared

Hmm? For some reason my 3½ floppy drive is gone. Its literally there but my PC doesnt read it. It worked for 3 years and ever since i put a new graphix card in it hasnt been there since. But im not sure what the problem is i click start, run, b:/ and nothing. I go to my computer and there is not floppy drive. How can i install it again? Im not sure where the install disk is for the floppy or if there ever was one. What should i do??
__________________

swp4lfe is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 10:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default Re: 3½ drive disappeared

Quote:
Originally posted by swp4lfe
Hmm? For some reason my 3½ floppy drive is gone. Its literally there but my PC doesnt read it. It worked for 3 years and ever since i put a new graphix card in it hasnt been there since. But im not sure what the problem is i click start, run, b:/ and nothing. I go to my computer and there is not floppy drive. How can i install it again? Im not sure where the install disk is for the floppy or if there ever was one. What should i do??
Make sure the power and IDE connectors are snug. If it still doesn't work buy a new one, they're a dime a dozen.

Is there any power going to it? Green led lit up or blinking?
__________________

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 10:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

you could also check your bios to see if somehow it got disabled.
__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 12:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Default

hmm well when i put in a new graphix card i didnt know what to do with the y connector and i tried to pull out some wire on accident so maybe i pulled something out or its losen i will check, Do 3½ drives com with start up disk? And no there is no lights coming on near the drive so maybe its not connected or something
swp4lfe is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 12:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by swp4lfe
hmm well when i put in a new graphix card i didnt know what to do with the y connector and i tried to pull out some wire on accident so maybe i pulled something out or its losen i will check, Do 3½ drives com with start up disk? And no there is no lights coming on near the drive so maybe its not connected or something
I'm sure you just pulled out or loosened the power connector. It's a small 4 pin power connector..... here's a pic if you're not sure.....

And no, no discs
guide
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.