3 beep error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2003, 05:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 26
Default 3 beep error

I just got a new system and the motherboard constantly gives three beeps on boot, which according to the manual is a main memory read/write error.

To save you looking it up in my profile, it's an ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe motherboard, and the memory is Corsair's 1024MB TwinX, DDR 400, PC3700 RAM (four 512MB chips totalling 2.0 Gig).

I can't stop it doing it, the memory tests out fine, and it even does it if I install EACH memory chip separately - I can't believe they are ALL faulty! Is it because the speed is too high for the board? Should I go into the bios and "tone it down" a bit - if so some kind soul will have to give me the idiot's guide on how to do it.

I've tried Tech Service at asus on tsd@asus.com, but the email just gets bounced as undeliverable (very helpful - NOT).

Heeeeelp!!
__________________

Grey Area is offline  
Old 11-17-2003, 07:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

my sister once had that problem and she just turned off the speaker
__________________

__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 11-17-2003, 08:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247
Default

Are you even able to get in the bios. what happens after these three beeps. Does an error come up and then it keeps booting. or does it halt at the error and go no further.
__________________
Tech4hire

i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 11-17-2003, 08:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 26
Default

Well, following the three beeps, it apparently boots normally, but I do have other problems (see other topic under "Wi-Fi blues" in this forum) and I suppose it is possible that they are related.

I just get twitchy when things give out error codes. I want my single, reassuring little "beep" which tells me everything is going okay.
Grey Area is offline  
Old 11-17-2003, 10:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 185
Default

When i look up you mobo, it say it cn up to ddr 3200. By you specs you have ddr 3700. Is that a typo, If it isn't then that might be why your are getting hte error code.
__________________
dfi nfII ultr infinity/asus p4s800
amd 2500xp m/p4 2.6
ati 9600/ati 9600 pro
512mb pc3200/512mb pc3200
trebor is offline  
Old 11-17-2003, 11:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 386
Send a message via ICQ to chesman Send a message via Yahoo to chesman
Default

what type of bio are you running?
__________________
WinXP Pro
P4 2.5 Ghz/socket 478/400FSB/512L2
512 megs PC800 Rambus
ABIT TH7II-Raid mobo
128MB Nvidia FX 5200 Home Theatre w/TV out and Remote
80 Gig Western Digital/8mb Cache/7200 RPM\'s
20 gig Fujitsu/2mb Cache/5400 RPM\'s
48x40x48/16X Dvd/CD-Burner
chesman is offline  
Old 11-17-2003, 12:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 26
Default

It is PC3700 memory (three-seven-zero-zero). I got fast memory to try and future proof it a bit - AFAIK, no motherboard currently supports any faster than 3200, but since there is memory available that goes up to PC4000 now, I did not think this would cause serious problems. This is why I was asking if I can "tone down" the memory speed in bios somewhere.

It's an Amibios, I can't remember the version number (I'm at work) but it's the latest one that the flash upgrade utility would let me download as of about Friday 8th November 2003.
Grey Area is offline  
Old 11-17-2003, 12:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83
Default

3 beeps is a memory error... the speed being to high for the mobo may have something to do with it if it all tests fine.
__________________
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 06:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 26
Default

D'oh! So what you're telling me is, I could have saved a few quid AND a few problems by buying ordinary PC3200 memory?

Damn.

HOW do I underclock the memory? I'm a bios novice!

Plus I flashed my bios very recently and the version is coming up as American Megatrends 080009. How does that compare to the version 1013?

Thanks!
__________________

Grey Area is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.