3 144hz monitors & 1 970 GPU (possible..?) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2015, 10:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Zimmerman
Posts: 56
Default 3 144hz monitors & 1 970 GPU (possible..?)

Hello everyone. It's been a while since I've posted. I am a newb. to computers. I had the itch and desire to learn about computers a few months ago. And I figured the best way to learn was to build one. So I did. For my build I had no specific goal. Just build something basic and useful for basic home use ( not realy gaming...yet). As you can see below I went way overboard for my specific needs. Oh well. I had fun, learned a lot, have a killer beautiful ( asthetically ) system that I'm very proud of.

i7 4790k ( non OC )
Noctua NH-D14 heatsink - cpu cooler
Gigabyte gaming 3 MOBO
32gb crucial ballastix RAM
MSI GTX 970 GPU ( non OC )
HGST 4 tbb HDD ( for files, photos and videos )
Samsung 850 pro 512gb ( or 500gb.. I don't recall ) SSD for my OS and programs.
Corsair 970 PSU
Corsair 970T case
LG optical drive
Rosewill card reader
Rosewill 4 fan controller
Acer 144hz 3D 24" monitor
Win 7 64 bit ( I will be upgrading to Win. 10 @ sometime. I just love the simplicity of Win.7 for the moment )
* I think that's everything...?

I have always wanted multiple monitors. Now I can.

Here's my question........--->

Is it possible to run 3 144hz monitors off my 970 GPU?
970 GPU - HDMI, Display Port, DVI-D and DVI-I
If I recall a 144hz is best support with Display port and DVI-D.

I just ordered 2 more Acer 144hz 3D 24" monitors.
Will my GPU run a total of 3 monitors @ 144hz?

My Acer 144hz monitors only have DVI-D, HDMI and VGA connectins.
I will run 1 DVI-D to a monitor. And I was told if I get a DVI-D --> Display port adapter. I can then have 2 monitors with DVI-D.
What about the 3rd monitor? All I am left with from my GPU is HDMI and DVI-I. Can it get 144hz from either of these 2 connections? Or is there any adapter?

Thank you very much for the long winded post. I look forward and appreciate your responses.

*** Do I need 3 144hz monitors? No. Do I want them? Yes. Am I a gamer now? No. Will I be a gamer in the future? I'd like to be.
__________________

frldyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 07:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: 3 144hz monitors & 1 970 GPU (possible..?)

If the DVI-I is dual link then you can put a monitor there and run all 3 144Hz. Would have to know the specific model of your GPU to find out though.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 08:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: 3 144hz monitors & 1 970 GPU (possible..?)

Although the 970 is a great card but 3 144hrz will be a struggle at best for 3. May have to have any games that support multi monitors on lower settings, Either SLI or a upgrade may be desired at some point soon.
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 08:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: 3 144hz monitors & 1 970 GPU (possible..?)

Well, he's not a gamer now so for productivity it'll be fine.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 10:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Zimmerman
Posts: 56
Default Re: 3 144hz monitors & 1 970 GPU (possible..?)

Thanks for the reply PP Maguire. The GPU has a DVI I connection and also DVI D connection. Right now I have one DVI -D into one of the monitors it's 144 Hz. Now with the DVI I connection that's left in the GPU can I connect that to a DVI D connection in the next 144 Hz monitor? No will that DVI I connection with the DVI D cable support 144 Hz?
frldyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 11:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: 3 144hz monitors & 1 970 GPU (possible..?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by frldyz View Post
Thanks for the reply PP Maguire. The GPU has a DVI I connection and also DVI D connection. Right now I have one DVI -D into one of the monitors it's 144 Hz. Now with the DVI I connection that's left in the GPU can I connect that to a DVI D connection in the next 144 Hz monitor? No will that DVI I connection with the DVI D cable support 144 Hz?
Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
If the DVI-I is dual link then you can put a monitor there and run all 3 144Hz. Would have to know the specific model of your GPU to find out though.
Kinda missed my first post regarding that.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
144hz monitor and 970 GPU. Do I need to adjust settings? frldyz Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 14 06-11-2015 03:53 PM
Need help picking the best GTX 970 if possible krazyq System Upgrades 16 11-05-2014 07:36 PM
i7 970 - 6 cores of fail S0ULphIRE New Technology and Products 6 07-29-2010 12:05 AM
Help Buidling a computer with a $850-$970 budget SPECOPx New Systems | Building and Buying 6 07-20-2009 02:48 PM
FS:2.4 P4 chips & 2.8 P4 &Laptop Ram & Vid Cards & More! 98RedGs Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 3 07-30-2008 04:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.